Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

Bruce, FL Feb 24, 2014

I was in London about to begin a very special 28 day vacation to multiple spots in Eastern Europe when suddenly I lost half the vision in my left eye. I went to an eye clinic and was diagnosed with a retinal artery embolism. Hoping my trip was not over I called Dr. G. David Onstad on his cell phone. Dr. Onstad had multiple conversations with multiple London doctors all at very inconvenient Florida hours over a two day period. Dr. Onstad suggested various hospital tests and consulted on their outcomes. As a result Dr. Onstad cleared me to join the excursion after missing only the first day. It was a wonderful experience and I will never be able to thank him appropriately for his skill and selflessness. I am proud to call him a great friend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

Jesse, FL Feb 24, 2014

I've been a member of MDVIP for several years and a patient of Dr. Onstad. Hi is the greatest!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

Arlene, FL Feb 24, 2014

As a nurse in Ct., I worked with doctors who were the best. My husband and I moved to Fl almost 30 years ago. I worked as a patient coordinator for a home health agency and met Dr Onstad at Holy Cross Hosp. I was so impressed with his professionalism and outstanding care for his patients. I have had him as my personal physician for many years and cannot express how wonderful, kind and totally caring he is. Thank you, Dr Onstad for everything you have done for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

James, FL Feb 13, 2014

Dr. Onstad's medical care of me and my family has been outstanding for more than 25 years. Dr. Onstad greatly helped me and was with me every step of the way during my recent battle against cancer. He was the captain of my team and now I am cancer free and a proud cancer survivor. Dr. Onstad is a wonderful person. We have prayed together for continued good health. His credentials are excellent but he is a great man. I thank Dr. Onstad every day for the great work he has done for all of us. God Bless Dr. Onstad.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

Peter, FL Feb 7, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr. Onstad's for over 20 years and he has always been there for me. Whenever I see him he spends more than enough time with me and I feel very comfortable in his hands.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

Wallace, FL Feb 7, 2014

Dr, Onstad did his tests and discovered that I had a heart irregularity. He checked my previous ekg from another doctor that had not picked up the irregularity. I have been for heart catherization and getting ready for a stent. The overall prognosis is very good, and I feel Doctor Onstad has added years to my life with his thoroughness. thanks You Doctor

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
G. David Onstad, MD, FCCP

Angela Jun 21, 2012

My physician is a part of my life for many reasons. I have been a patient of his for the past 18 years, and as of 10 years ago, my husband also became his patient. Our physician is genuine, trustworthy, sincere, caring, and calm. At my most recent annual physical, my cholesterol numbers became a cause for concern. Sure, I realize that although I am conscientious about my diet, I function best on protein. My preference unfortunately, is red meat. A lot of red meat - meaning two or three times a day! Perhaps this is a contributing factor to my elevated cholesterol levels? My physician tells me that these are numbers to keep an eye on and that I will now need to come quarterly for blood work. He did not give me a lecture, look down on me, or make sarcastic remarks about my dietary intake. Perhaps it is because we have known each other for so long, I know without him having to tell me, that I am responsible for what I choose to do in my life and only I am the person that can control my health. Leaving the office that day, I headed straight to my favorite fast food drive-thru that I always go to after doctor's appointments and ordered my large diet coke and Angus beef burger, extra lettuce, no mayo. For the next couple of months, I did not make any concerted efforts to extremely alter my diet. However, I noticed that I was beginning to explore other protein options, such as salmon, white fish, egg whites, and chicken. Also, I had begun to switch my 12 pack of diet coke each day, for water when it was hot outside, and chicken broth when it was cold. I unknowingly found that these alternative drink options satiated my hunger for red meat, and satisfied me throughout the day. Plus, I was saving money by not going out as often, and saving time by not having to prepare such extensive meals and snacks! At my three month follow-up bloodwork, my physician's lovely assistant, called me to give me the new cholesterol numbers. They had decreased significantly! My first reaction was of query - wondering how did that happen? I hadn't made any conscious efforts to eat less red meat. But thinking of my days over the course of the past three months, I realized that I had made changes to my diet. And not only that, but these other protein options had become a part of my husband's diet as well - subsequently lowering his overall cholesterol numbers also! The point of this story is to refer to my doctor and his communication style with me. I respond much better when I feel as though I am working on a team with someone, rather than being criticized or lectured for bad habits that I knowingly have. I truly feel that it is because of his trust and hopes in me to make healthy decisions rather than bad ones, that I am successfully lowering my cholesterol. His patience with me makes me feel accountable to him to not let him down when he knows I can do better. For that, I become motivated, and am grateful to have him as my physician.

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
No results found.