Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Janice, AL Mar 30, 2017

Dr. DeAtkine is currently my doctor. I have been his patient since he joined MDVIP. Dr. DeAtkine was also my mom's doctor since he began his practice in Birmingham. She eagerly followed him to his MDVIP practice. My mom had several serious health issues. Dr. DeAtkine was always so thorough. He was very kind and patient with her. She was so proud that he was her doctor. She believed in him. She would have jumped off a building if he told her to do that. He continued to take excellent care of her throughout her life. He visited her a couple of days before her death. He was very kind to my brother and me. He even took time out of his busy practice to attend her memorial. There is no question my mom's quality of life was greatly increased because of Dr. DeAtkine. c. I think if it came between buying groceries or paying my MDVIP fee, I would choose MDVIP hands down !!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Sonja, AL Mar 30, 2017

Exceptional!! Knowledgeable, Compassionate, Available, Goes above and beyond!!! All of these describe Dr. DeAtkine and his team. I honestly don't know how I could handle my health problems without him. The money I pay MDVIP is by far the best money I spend every year.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Patricia, AL Mar 29, 2017

Caring for a medically non-compliant diabetic husband and a 93-year-old blind mother with dementia for several years could have put this 65-year-old type I diabetic into an early grave. Thanks to exceptional medical advice and excellent medical care from Dr. D. during these years, I'm laughing, healthy, and looking forward. Dr. Deatkine gets MUCH of the credit for keeping me in tip top shape to handle the challenges. He is appreciated more than he can possibly know. Thank you, Dr. D., for the help, the advice, the as-needed assistance, and the honest caring you have given the three of us for so long. I can't imagine facing the challenges without you in my corner! Thank you and your wonderful staff for giving so much! I can only wish that you and the ladies receive as much caring as you give. You are all a blessing! Wishing you all good things...

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Leigh, AL Mar 22, 2017

Every year, I'm more grateful for David's personal attention to me and my family. When I joined his budding MDVIP practice over 12 years ago, he made a promise to provide personalize service. He continues to surpass my expectations...even making house calls! Thank you, David!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Donna, AL Mar 27, 2015

I have been a patient of Dr. DeAtkine for many years even before MDVIP. I tell everyone he has saved my life many times. He works well with other physicians when I must see a surgeon. I never wait in his office and when I have a problem I can reach him anytime. I thank God for Dr. DeAtkin and his office staff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Annie L., AL Feb 26, 2015

My husband and I, along with many others in my family are patients of Dr. Deatkine. He has always been very punctual, concerned and attentive to our needs. Donald, my husband, has had some serious health problems and Dr. Deatkine has quickly had the diagnostic procedures done, thus saving his life on a number of occasions. He has a great bedside manner and listens to us which is very important in the doctor/patient relationship.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Patricia (Trisha), AL Feb 19, 2015

Dr. David DeAtkine GREATLY contributes to my emotional well-being as well as to my physical health. As caretaker for my mother, in her 90s, and my husband, who has frequent and serious medical problems, both of whom are also MDVIP patients of Dr. DeAtkine, I have occasions of immediate need for contact with a trusted medical advisor. Dr. DeAtkine provides assistance, advice, and excellent care ongoing, whenever I need him. He continues to be caring and considerate, acting as a partner in my caretaking duties, and doing an excellent job of keeping me healthy so I can do the things I need to do to fulfill my caretaking obligations. It would be wonderful if he could truly know how much he contributes to my peace of mind and general wellbeing, and how much I appreciate his sincere concern and attention to various medical issues. I cannot imagine that I would be able to successfully continue with all my duties without his wonderful care! Thank you, Dr. D! You rank right in the top with my Most Important People, and you are GREATLY appreciated. ;-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Elizabeth, AL Dec 11, 2014

i am very grateful for Dr. DeAtkines years of caring, positive approach to his patients well being, and have benefited from being one of his patients for many of these years....healthier as a result, blessed, and look forward to his care in the years ahead.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Nena, AL Feb 26, 2014

In October I was having shortness of breath. One morning I fainted and Dr. DeAtkine wanted me to come into the office. I had just had hand surgery 3 days earlier and we wondered if I was low on fluids following surgery. I went to his office and he offered to admit me to the hospital for tests or try a bag of fluids to see if that would help. I chose the fluids. As I left the office, he told me very firmly to call the next morning if I was not better. I was worse the next day, hardly able to breath and talk, and he had me immediately go to the hospital where he would have orders waiting. After many tests, particularly a CT scan with contrast on my lungs, I was sent down for an ultrasound on my legs. Imagine my surprise when I looked up and Dr. DeAtkine was coming into the room. It was during his office hours and I was surprised to see him. I knew something must be wrong for his to leave his office. He stayed with me and went back to the room where he told us I had extensive blood clots in both lungs. I was sent to ICU and the first night he called the unit late to talk to my nurse. He was very attentive during my ICU stay and the rest of the time I was in the hospital. He is truly a caring Doctor and does take excellent care of his patients. He told us in his 20+ years of medicine he had never had a patient with good oxygen saturation. rates have blood clots and survived all those clots passing into my lungs. I am grateful he insisted on my going to the hospital for tests. I could have died very easily if more had formed or one broken off and gone to my heart or brain.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Rebecca, AL Feb 25, 2014

HAPPY DOCTOR'S DAY, DR. DEATKINE, YOU'RE THE BEST. My MDVIP doctor's care has been the best decision I have made in my life. I truly believe that I would not be alive if I had not found him. For three years, I was unable to get a diagnosis of a major illness, of which, I was in the last stage when I saw him and I was dying. I got a tentative diagnosis first examination, pending tests later confirming his opinion. He immediately made me arrange to see an out of state specialist for four months of treatment there. A year after I had started seeing him I knew why I got no diagnosis for three years and became furious. It is my opinion that professional politics are behind it and that doctors can be discouraged from acknowledging the disease. The doctors who act on behalf of their patients' best interests can be subject to pressure not to treat it. I realized that my doctor diagnosed me, treated me and worked with the specialist, during and after my treatment out of state, while he may have experienced negative consequences. I believe that this is an absolute shame. Because of the concierge medical services provided by MDVIP; because he is not influenced by insurers; and, mostly, because of his personal integrity as a doctor, I did not die. For three years, I was shrugged off by physicians to psychiatrists and took medication, instead of antibiotics. The last psychiatrist believed me when I said, though I was aware that I was emotionally and cognitively impaired, I was not psychotic. Psychosis does not cause fevers lasting months, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, anemia or bone pain. He recommended MDVIP doctor and a few weeks after he did, that Psychiatrist tragically died. I believe I was handed off to my doctor by God (Melodramatic much? Don't care. That is how I really feel.) just prior to this man's sad death. The freedom this type of medical practice provides to my doctor, and his own decision to disregard peer pressure or liability concerns over treating me is why I am alive. He sticks with me as I struggle to recover. The cost for his services is worth every penny paid now for seven years, unlike my health insurance costing $650 a month Enhanced coverage which when it does not cover the disease I have. I went into an Internist's office with my mother and was depressed by recalling those past visits. Covering the walls were RULES! and signs of admonishment to patients, as their names were YELLED! when time for them to come back, but only four people were in the waiting room. I wanted to slap my hands over my ears. I am not accustomed to such things at my current doctor's office. His office is calm and respectful of the patient. He does whatever needs to be done to provide my care. He once drove my blood to the overnight mail carrier, himself, when it was drawn after the pickup time at his office. Then, he takes all the time with me that I want to talk in an office visit. There is much to appreciate about him, his office staff and their office protocol. I will be his patient as long as he will have me. I will also always use concierge medical services. This care has brought back to patients the truly capable doctor who is outstanding in training and experience and who can work with a multi-disciplined approach to treat the patient whom he knows the way a town doctor knows all of his patients. HAPPY DOCTOR'S DAY!! p.s. Be careful surfing and skiing because I have a serious interest in your staying safe and well. Having you as my doctor is one of my most important assets.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Karen, AL Feb 25, 2014

Dr. DeAtkine has truly made my life and my husband's life easier. He is always just a phone call away. He responds promptly and always listens to what we have to say. He shows compassion and is genuinely concerned about our wellbeing. If either of us needs to see him, 99 of the time, he sees us the same day. Rarely do we have to wait. He and his staff are fabulous. Thank you Dr D and your wonderful staff for everything

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Barbara, AL Feb 24, 2014

Available, Thorough, Kind, Knowledgeable, Physician and Friend. Since my husband and I have been patients of Dr.DeAtkine's for the last 12 years, we have experienced many situations together: B.P. spikes, Osteoporosis breaks, etc. During the many late nights, weekend long distance phone calls, we always receive a response in a matter of minutes. Now in our early 80's we are still very active, happy and able to travel, attend the various sporting events,dances,musicals and other various activities of our 9 grand children and 5 great grandchildren All of this we attribute to Dr.DeAkine's outstanding care and our faith in God.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.