Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Donna, AL Mar 27, 2015

I have been a patient of Dr. DeAtkine for many years even before MDVIP. I tell everyone he has saved my life many times. He works well with other physicians when I must see a surgeon. I never wait in his office and when I have a problem I can reach him anytime. I thank God for Dr. DeAtkin and his office staff.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Annie L., AL Feb 26, 2015

My husband and I, along with many others in my family are patients of Dr. Deatkine. He has always been very punctual, concerned and attentive to our needs. Donald, my husband, has had some serious health problems and Dr. Deatkine has quickly had the diagnostic procedures done, thus saving his life on a number of occasions. He has a great bedside manner and listens to us which is very important in the doctor/patient relationship.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Patricia (Trisha), AL Feb 19, 2015

Dr. David DeAtkine GREATLY contributes to my emotional well-being as well as to my physical health. As caretaker for my mother, in her 90s, and my husband, who has frequent and serious medical problems, both of whom are also MDVIP patients of Dr. DeAtkine, I have occasions of immediate need for contact with a trusted medical advisor. Dr. DeAtkine provides assistance, advice, and excellent care ongoing, whenever I need him. He continues to be caring and considerate, acting as a partner in my caretaking duties, and doing an excellent job of keeping me healthy so I can do the things I need to do to fulfill my caretaking obligations. It would be wonderful if he could truly know how much he contributes to my peace of mind and general wellbeing, and how much I appreciate his sincere concern and attention to various medical issues. I cannot imagine that I would be able to successfully continue with all my duties without his wonderful care! Thank you, Dr. D! You rank right in the top with my Most Important People, and you are GREATLY appreciated. ;-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Elizabeth, AL Dec 11, 2014

i am very grateful for Dr. DeAtkines years of caring, positive approach to his patients well being, and have benefited from being one of his patients for many of these years....healthier as a result, blessed, and look forward to his care in the years ahead.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Nena, AL Feb 26, 2014

In October I was having shortness of breath. One morning I fainted and Dr. DeAtkine wanted me to come into the office. I had just had hand surgery 3 days earlier and we wondered if I was low on fluids following surgery. I went to his office and he offered to admit me to the hospital for tests or try a bag of fluids to see if that would help. I chose the fluids. As I left the office, he told me very firmly to call the next morning if I was not better. I was worse the next day, hardly able to breath and talk, and he had me immediately go to the hospital where he would have orders waiting. After many tests, particularly a CT scan with contrast on my lungs, I was sent down for an ultrasound on my legs. Imagine my surprise when I looked up and Dr. DeAtkine was coming into the room. It was during his office hours and I was surprised to see him. I knew something must be wrong for his to leave his office. He stayed with me and went back to the room where he told us I had extensive blood clots in both lungs. I was sent to ICU and the first night he called the unit late to talk to my nurse. He was very attentive during my ICU stay and the rest of the time I was in the hospital. He is truly a caring Doctor and does take excellent care of his patients. He told us in his 20+ years of medicine he had never had a patient with good oxygen saturation. rates have blood clots and survived all those clots passing into my lungs. I am grateful he insisted on my going to the hospital for tests. I could have died very easily if more had formed or one broken off and gone to my heart or brain.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Rebecca, AL Feb 25, 2014

HAPPY DOCTOR'S DAY, DR. DEATKINE, YOU'RE THE BEST. My MDVIP doctor's care has been the best decision I have made in my life. I truly believe that I would not be alive if I had not found him. For three years, I was unable to get a diagnosis of a major illness, of which, I was in the last stage when I saw him and I was dying. I got a tentative diagnosis first examination, pending tests later confirming his opinion. He immediately made me arrange to see an out of state specialist for four months of treatment there. A year after I had started seeing him I knew why I got no diagnosis for three years and became furious. It is my opinion that professional politics are behind it and that doctors can be discouraged from acknowledging the disease. The doctors who act on behalf of their patients' best interests can be subject to pressure not to treat it. I realized that my doctor diagnosed me, treated me and worked with the specialist, during and after my treatment out of state, while he may have experienced negative consequences. I believe that this is an absolute shame. Because of the concierge medical services provided by MDVIP; because he is not influenced by insurers; and, mostly, because of his personal integrity as a doctor, I did not die. For three years, I was shrugged off by physicians to psychiatrists and took medication, instead of antibiotics. The last psychiatrist believed me when I said, though I was aware that I was emotionally and cognitively impaired, I was not psychotic. Psychosis does not cause fevers lasting months, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, anemia or bone pain. He recommended MDVIP doctor and a few weeks after he did, that Psychiatrist tragically died. I believe I was handed off to my doctor by God (Melodramatic much? Don't care. That is how I really feel.) just prior to this man's sad death. The freedom this type of medical practice provides to my doctor, and his own decision to disregard peer pressure or liability concerns over treating me is why I am alive. He sticks with me as I struggle to recover. The cost for his services is worth every penny paid now for seven years, unlike my health insurance costing $650 a month Enhanced coverage which when it does not cover the disease I have. I went into an Internist's office with my mother and was depressed by recalling those past visits. Covering the walls were RULES! and signs of admonishment to patients, as their names were YELLED! when time for them to come back, but only four people were in the waiting room. I wanted to slap my hands over my ears. I am not accustomed to such things at my current doctor's office. His office is calm and respectful of the patient. He does whatever needs to be done to provide my care. He once drove my blood to the overnight mail carrier, himself, when it was drawn after the pickup time at his office. Then, he takes all the time with me that I want to talk in an office visit. There is much to appreciate about him, his office staff and their office protocol. I will be his patient as long as he will have me. I will also always use concierge medical services. This care has brought back to patients the truly capable doctor who is outstanding in training and experience and who can work with a multi-disciplined approach to treat the patient whom he knows the way a town doctor knows all of his patients. HAPPY DOCTOR'S DAY!! p.s. Be careful surfing and skiing because I have a serious interest in your staying safe and well. Having you as my doctor is one of my most important assets.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Karen, AL Feb 25, 2014

Dr. DeAtkine has truly made my life and my husband's life easier. He is always just a phone call away. He responds promptly and always listens to what we have to say. He shows compassion and is genuinely concerned about our wellbeing. If either of us needs to see him, 99 of the time, he sees us the same day. Rarely do we have to wait. He and his staff are fabulous. Thank you Dr D and your wonderful staff for everything

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Barbara, AL Feb 24, 2014

Available, Thorough, Kind, Knowledgeable, Physician and Friend. Since my husband and I have been patients of Dr.DeAtkine's for the last 12 years, we have experienced many situations together: B.P. spikes, Osteoporosis breaks, etc. During the many late nights, weekend long distance phone calls, we always receive a response in a matter of minutes. Now in our early 80's we are still very active, happy and able to travel, attend the various sporting events,dances,musicals and other various activities of our 9 grand children and 5 great grandchildren All of this we attribute to Dr.DeAkine's outstanding care and our faith in God.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Nancy L., AL Feb 24, 2014

Let me start with a little back ground information. Dr. DeAtkins took over Dr. Killan's patients, amoung those were my mother and father who suffered from diabetes with kindney and heart complications. Little did he know how difficult this task would be. They were both stubborn and willfull and for the most part in denial and thier health was already in crisis mode, I had my doubts for his survival. However he rose to occasion with style and convidence, for the remainder their lives he devoted time to helping them with all the skill he possesed. My parents came to respect him as did I. Seeing him handle my parents and the fact that he knew my families medical history background is what affrimed me as his now patient. He has not let me down. He is proactive in his approach to my medical needs, always keeping track through testing for diabetes and heart disease, which are rampent in my family. His helpful suggestion for life style changes and true concern are, for me, a wonderful support system. There is nothing we can do to change our genetic make up but with the proper medical support I believe I can stay it off maybe for ever maybe not these diseases.I have all the convidence in the world that should diabetes or heart disease catch me I have the absolute best doctor to see me through. I count Dr. DeAtkins one of my many blessing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Barbara, AL Feb 23, 2014

Available, thorough, knowledgeable, kind, physician and friend. Since being a patient for the last 12 years, we have experienced many situations together...B.P. Spikes, osteoporosis breaks, etc. During the many late nights, week ends, long distance phone calls, Dr. D. has always been responsive in a matter of minutes. Now in our early 80's, we are still VERY active, happy and able to attend the sports, dance, musicals, and other various activities of our grandchildren and great grandchildren. All of this we contribute to Dr. D's outstanding care, and our faith in God.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Sonja, AL Feb 22, 2014

Have you ever ignored a red flag at the beach to suddenly find yourself in the grip of powers beyond your control? Sand scraping layers of skin, no contest between the strength of your limbs and that of the ocean, water filing, your lungs? Sorry, red flags up. No life guard is on duty. For those of us who have multiple debilitating diseases, any day can be a red flag day. No life guard is on duty. You are on your own, unless youre fortunate enough to be one of Dr. David DeAtkines patients. Dr. David DeAtkine is physician to many seriously ill patients. For us, flag or no flag, hes our life guard. He certainly is mine. My diseases tend to cascade and intertwine in ways that would baffle many other doctors. In addition to some lesser conditions, I have Multiple Sclerosis, Addisons disease, Thyroid cancer, labile hypertension, dysautonomia, vasovagal syncope. Because of this conglomeration, I have to have several specialists, but without Dr. David DeAtkine to act as my primary physician and care coordinator, I doubt I would be here today. His availability and rapid response time have saved me more than once. I frequently require immediate medical attention for life-threatening episodes. During these crises, I have always been able to either see Dr. DeAtkine quickly or have him call my orders to the ER ahead of my arrival. Dr. DeAtkine is also that increasingly rare bird who makes his own hospital rounds. I am never just thrown to a hospitalist who may or may not have even heard of some of my illnesses, much less treated someone who has to take so many unusually strong medications that have the potential of interacting. During my most recent trip to the ER, Dr. DeAtkine did not leave the decision making to an ER physician with no familiarity with me. Instead, Dr. DeAtkine came to the ER to oversee my care and made the admission to ICU himself. During all of my in-patient hospital stays, he always comes to see me multiple times a day. This personal overseeing makes me feel I am getting the best possible care from the doctor who knows me and my medical history. Dr. David DeAtkines knowledge, compassion, courtesy, prompt availability has literally saved my life at times and prevented my becoming a complete invalid at others. Thanks to Dr. DeAtkines keen eye and depth of knowledge, I am here to play with my grandchildren and hear the inimitable music of their laughter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
David DeAtkine Jr, MD, FACE

Margaret, AL Feb 22, 2014

I was fortunate enough to get in with my Dr. D (as I call him) years ago. He has always been kind and thorough in taking care of my many conditions. When in the hospital, always checking, sometimes 4 times a day depending on my condition. He just had a heart to heart talk with me yesterday and convinced me (finally) to do something about my health. Shots and pills are not the solution, controlling my weight is. Yesterday was my first step, blood sugar this morning lower than it has been in years. In all these years of care provided to me, he has always been attentive and concerned. He listens and seems never to be in a hurry, I have never left his office feeling I was rushed out or just another number. He is very thorough to finding out my problems when hospitalized. As well as being kind to my husband who asks so many questions. We love Dr. D. I have recommended him many times even knowing his waiting list is long and sometimes even closed. I just wish for a real life cloning device so that everyone could get this level of quality care. Once you have had his care, there is no going back to another doctor.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.