Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Harold S. Solomon, MD

Joyce, MA Feb 8, 2015

I have been seeing Harold for almost 40 years. He has seen me through family crises, participation in medication trials and the National Lung Screening Trial, which discovered a small lump in the lung. He saw me through the follow-up, coordinating with specialists, including thorascopic surgery in 2006. He is a friend, as well as a respected medical advisor. I will take his advice as to another physician should he decide to retire while I still am alive. I followed him to MDVIP and hope to remain with him. MY opinion of MDVIP is based upon the fact that he has continued to practice medicine because of the ability to affiliate with MDVIP.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Susan, MA Oct 28, 2014

Harold Solomon is truly a Best Doctor! He's a brilliant, seasoned, diagnostician and a friend. Emailed questions are answered quickly and unscheduled non emergency appointments are possible within hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Carol, MA Oct 9, 2014

This past February my husband and I were taking care of our then 21/2year old granddaughter in our home while her parents were away. And wouldn't you know it...she developed a high fever and was clearly unwell. Since they live out of state ,we did not have a pediatrician to call. I called Harold for advice and he walked down the hall in his office building and arranged for us to see a doctor there. Clearly, this is a wonderful doctor who cares about his patients and their lives and goes (literally and figuratively) out of his way to do any and everything he can to help . HE IS THE BEST!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

David, MA Feb 23, 2014

Harold Solomon was in a group of internists at Brigham & Women's Hospital when I first met him. I was referred to him by the then physician-in-chief, Eugene Braunwald. I had been seeing a cardiologist at the time. A respected one who gave me some sound advice. He told me that there were medical issues not involving the heart that were important to overall health and I should have an internist for that. My family's heart history was so pervasive that I thought surely it would be the heart that would do me in. I had my first appointment with Harold in 1990 at the age of 57. His first priority was to order a barium procedure and CT Scan. The result was the discovery of a blockage in my colon. The surgery to follow resulted in a colonectomy and the excision of a cancerous polyp. During the whole process my family and I became very close to Harold for his wise judgment, his optimism and his attentiveness. Now that I am 81 and live most of the year in Florida, I still call Harold my doctor. Even though a great number of specialists have been extremely helpful to my health, they are no substitute for Harold, who I look to for the final medical judgment of what I do next. In those years, I also became Harold's legal counsel and I take pride in making a legal judgment for him: encouraging him to become a member of MDVIP. So when we get together, it has become a mutual appreciation and admiration event!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Narendra, MA Feb 23, 2014

It was New Year's Eve and that too a Sunday. Instead of resting at home after a minor surgical procedure, a raging fever landed me in the ER. Alarming chatter of a heart murmur, a spreading infection, and the possibility of intravenous antibiotics concerned my wife and me, so we decided to call Dr. Solomon. We had not expected to be able to reach him BUT he answered his mobile and stayed in contact until 1:00 AM. His diagnosis: a flow murmur due to the high fever and nothing more and a strong recommendation to get out of there. But the attending physician thought it advisable to admit me. Two days, many tests and strong antibiotics later the doctors concurred with Dr Solomons diagnosis. I have not known of any doctor who will take a call at 11:55 PM on New Years eve and be able to diagnose so clearly remotely. I divide my time in many different countries but whenever there is any medical issue I reach out to Dr. Solomon on phone/e-mail and irrespective of the time difference he responds within hours. It is most reassuring to know that I can always reach Dr. Solomon for consistent solid medical advice. I salute Dr. Solomon for his dedication to the profession and the care of patients comes first motto. Diagnosis based on experience and strong street sense is hard to come by in this day of incessant use of mechanized diagnosis/testing. There is no substitute to the advice given by an experienced doctor like Dr. Solomon. If there is one thing I have learnt from him in our more than a decade association is when you hear the sound of hooves, think of horses not zebras and leave the zebra chasing to him. Thank you Dr. Solomon for being there when I need you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Garry, MA Feb 22, 2014

Our 11-year-old son Peter had coarctation of the aorta surgery in 1971 at Children's Hospital in Boston, During one of our visits to his cardiologist, Dr. Roberta Williams, I told her that I was being treated for high blood pressure by a doctor in my home area of Springfield, Mass. She recommended that I begin seeing Dr. Harold Solomon in Boston. When I had my first appointment with him, he found that my pressure was 220 over 110 and immediately had me admitted to Peter Bent Brigham Hospital. From that time on, in 1973, I have been Dr. Solomon's patient. I was 44 years old and really sick when I started with him. Under a regimen of medication devised by him, my blood pressure was brought under control. I am 82 years old now, and firmly believe I would have died long ago without the care I received from Dr. Solomon.Our son Peter also has been Dr. Solomon's patient over the same time period. When Dr. Solomon became affiliated with MDVIP, there was no question that we would stay with him. He has been the most important person in our lives, outside of family...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Augusta, NH Feb 15, 2014

I first met Dr. Harold Solomon nearly a decade ago, when I was referred to him for a pesky blood pressure problem. He prescribed a test and then a pill, and it was totally solved on first try. I was pleased, but evidently he was too as he actually danced a jig! I keep going back to him, as he inspires confidence--even though it's a 2 hour drive each way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Michael, MA Feb 11, 2014

Harold Solomon has become a part of my family. He is a trustted advisor to my wife and to me. We both see Harold and we are both huge fans of his. Harold has the passion and wisdom to go along with the knowledge. Harold has given us confidence in the our care. I believe that he cares about his patients as if they were his best friends. My care often consists not only of the traditional check-ups but also the care of my soul. The life philosophy and wisdom helps me to keep my life in perspective. He encourages me to live a more examined and meaningful life. I know that may seem far reaching but it is so clearly true. I am not only healthier but a better person because of Harold......When was the last time most people felt that way about their MD?.....I bet most of Harold's patients do!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Mary Jane, MA Feb 7, 2014

I am so thankful to have Dr. Harold Solomon as my family doctor. He has that wonderful Southern bedside manner, so easy to talk to and explains everything at my level of understanding. It is such a comfort to know that he is always there for us, just a phone call away, no matter where our travels take us. I once had food poisoning while on vacation in Spain. I called Dr. Solomon and he called back immediately! I can't say enough to express my gratitude. To have that sense of trust and security is invaluable.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Stephen, FL Feb 7, 2014

You've been there for me. Thank you!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Barbara, MA Feb 6, 2014

I have known Dr. Solomon since I was 34years old and I am now 58years old. I was diagnosed and have been treated for high blood pressure since that time. When I first met him I remember being very upset that I needed to take medication at a young age and he was very supportive and compassionate. This approach has never changed in all the years that Dr. Solomon has been my primary care doctor. I have to say that Dr. Solomon has been there through my twins birth, divorce and anxiety issues with always the same approach; honest, humorous and caring. I always tell people how much I love him and love his work. I would never see anyone else but him. Thank you Dr. Solomon, for always being there for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Harold S. Solomon, MD

Joyce Feb 2, 2013

Harold S.Solomon, MD has been my primary care physician since 1979. He is a friend as well as my primary care physician. He encouraged me to participate in the original trials using lovastatin in 1987. They do work very well for me now. He constantly pushed me to stop smoking. He also encouraged me to participate in the National Lung Screening Trials studies in 2003. By doing so, and being fortunate to be in the CT scan portion of the study, a very small lump was discovered in the lower lobe of my right lung. It was monitored and grew enough to be removed in 2006. Harold coordinated all of my consultations and surgery and care. I am now considered to be cured since there has been no recurrence as of 05 June 2012. We are continuing to monitor. I participated in Harold's survey research into joining MDVIP or ceasing to practice medicine altogether. His concern for his patients forced him into working many more hours than any human being should be asked to do. He was doing this in order for him to provide the care which he told me that he needed to provide for all of his patients. I felt that it was and is to my benefit to pay the extra MDVIP fees to enable him to continue his practice. As far as I am concerned,my satisfaction with MDVIP is that Harold has continued to practice, and that having reached the age of 75 years old I do not need to search for .another primary care physician.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.