Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

James W. Jacobs, MD

Richard, NC Mar 23, 2017

My doctor, Jim Jacobs, MD. Is an outstanding doctor. I have never experienced a more thorough physical as well as attention to detail in every aspect of my health. For many years, due to my profession as a military pilot, I had a flight physical yearly. I never had a flight physical that was a thorough as the physical that I have yearly with Dr. Jacobs. I owe my life to him as he immediately picked up on a need I had with my heart. I did not realize that my aortic valve was failing. He immediately referred me to an outstanding cardiologist who took the next step to get me to an outstanding surgeon I needed to replace my valve. The follow up, and care for other health needs has always been excellent. Col. Ret. Richard Daum

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Sam, NC Mar 23, 2017

I think Dr. Jacobs (and his entire staff for that matter) are amazingly responsive and consistently deliver a gold standard quality of care. Besides all that...they are nice!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Shirley, NC Mar 10, 2016

My health was receiving half hearted attention by doctors and specialist. It was time to find my own solution. My sister in San Diego has seen a MDVIP for years and encouraged me to research locally. Best sister-advice ever! Dr Jacobs has listened and taken time answer all my questions which makes me feel we are a team.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Charles ( Woody), NC Feb 10, 2016

It is so nice to call up your doctor and get in to see him that day if you really need to or just get that call back telling you just what to do for your condition. Also to have his staff talk to you as if you were the only person they needed to help that day. Also not getting one of those machines to talk to. It makes me feel as though I am living back in the 60's when your Dr. made house calls. He and his staff take time with me so that I don't go in and feel like Ok next I know and feel like my health is well taken care of and that's a peaceful feeling.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Mark, NC Feb 17, 2015

Since becoming a patient of Dr Jacob's, I have gained a new understanding of the importance of nutrition to my overall health. I have incorporated more whole foods in my diet, and less processed food. I have lessened my meat and dairy intake as part of this lifestyle change. I have also become more aware of the importance of daily execercise, through the fitbit group that I have joined with his practice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

William, NC Feb 27, 2014

Dr. Jacobs was the best Dr. we ever had long before he joined MDVIP. When he moved his practice to MDVIP, we followed without any reservations, in spite of the added cost. This has proven to be the best decision we could have made. He found that I had Prostate cancer a little over a year ago. His advice and assistance in getting multiple Dr.'s opinions about treatment have been invaluable to me. He is reachable 24/7, and will always spend as much time as I need to help me analyze serious medical decisions. Staying with Dr. Jacobs has been well worth the cost of MDVIP.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Karen, NC Feb 24, 2014

Dr. Jacobs has been a keen guide showing me the way to better health since I moved to North Carolina 17 years ago. Since he joined MDVIP (and I followed), his ability to provide counsel, offer keen insight and evaluate my health in a holistic manner have increased to such a magnitude that I feel as though he serve as my personal life coach, counselor and patient advocate. Dr. Jacobs access to state-of-the art diagnostic tests resulted in my learning that I had a significant build-up of plaque in my carotid arteries. I view that knowledge as life-saving insight that signaled major health behavior changes were in order. I am indebted in so many ways to Dr. Jacobs for his support and counsel through many life chapters that have significantly impacted my stress levels. His ongoing support and advice have been invaluable in helping me to navigate trying times that could have seriously jeopardized my health. Thanks to Dr. Jacobs, I am finally on the road to better health. Ive now adopted the FitBit and joined your FitBit team to help me keep in step and my recently purchased bike is designed to keep me moving. Thanks, Dr. Jacobs you have worked hard to encourage me to develop better health and I truly believe Im enroute to make lasting positive changes in my healthcare!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Rebecca Feb 23, 2014

Dear Dr. Jacobs, Most every day Hugh and I remind each other how fortunate we are that you, one of the best qualified internists in the country, are our primary physician. Our thankfulness abounds! We are grateful for the listening ear you give us each time we come to your office. Thank you for always taking time to answer our questions and address our concerns. I recall the occasion I mentioned that I was experiencing more fatigue than usual, and you responded by referring me to a cardiologist for a stress test and electrocardiogram. The latter test revealed a leaking aortic valve, a condition that may not have been discovered had you not taken my concern seriously. Also, we are grateful for the speed and accuracy with which you diagnose health issues. Your ability in this area and your readiness to refer when referral is deemed necessary causes us to feel secure under your care. Your emphasis on disease prevention as well as cure is another reason we are thankful to be your patients. Certaintly the thorough physical exam we receive each year and the follow-up on issues that are of concern are great preventive tools. Additionally, the emphasis of your practice on good nutrition and adequate exercise is most valuable. Your invitation in January 2013 to view the film Forks Over Knives, and your recommendation of books on nutrition, i.e., Eat to Live, have caused us to make some needed changes in our diet. And we are looking forward to participating in the 2014 focus of your practice on promoting vascular and cellular health through an active lifestyle. We are grateful for your generosity and concern for our health. Thank you! Thank you! This letter of appreciation would be incomplete if we failed to tell you that in addition to our gratitude for your abilities and for our doctor-patient relationship, we give thanks for the person you are. Please let your staff know how much we appreciate their ministry. We have always found them to be helpful, capable and courteous. Congratulations on maintaining a great team. Your grateful patients, Rebecca and Hugh

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

manly, NC Feb 18, 2014

We are approaching 75 years old have been patients with Dr, James Jacobs for 18 years.It thrilled us for him to become affiliated with MDVIP. This is the way medicine should be practiced. Dr. Jacobs is a professional, ethical, caring, and available physician. He excels in communications and in making sure we understand diagnoses and any related treatments. This means a lot in today's fast paced world when many look for a quick fix to complex problems. His focus on wellness and prevention has motivated us to change our diet, initiate an exercise program, begin a vitamin regime, and take a more holistic approach to our health. Overall, Dr. Jacobs is the best.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Jim & Lea, NC Feb 14, 2014

We have found in Dr. Jacobs an excellent partner for improving and maintaining our health. He zeroes in quickly on the issues, makes appropriate recommendations for improvement and follows through with aggressive but compassionate care. Also, he listens. Perhaps that is the most difficult quality to find in a physician in today's computerized world. We are grateful to have him in our lives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Sam, NC Feb 10, 2014

Few people in life get to do what they were born to do. Dr Jacobs was born to be an MD!! He is so well read, dedicated, committed, etc. to health it is amazing!! Everyone in our family considers Dr. Jacobs the best physician they have ever seen (age range 24 - 80).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
James W. Jacobs, MD

Robert, NC Feb 9, 2014

My wife did a lot of research after a previous doctor misdiagnosed my stroke a few years ago. Reviewers raved about Dr. Jacobs, and he quickly took over my care, sent me to top shelf specialists and coordinated my treatment. When he joined MDVIP, I followed without hesitation. Once when my heart got a little off kilter at 3:00 a.m., I called the 24-hour number, fully expecting a surrogate to answer, Dr. Jacobs himself picked up, questioned me in depth, and determined that I'd be best off in bed until morning, and arranged to see me before normal office hours in the morning.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.