Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Allan, SC Mar 31, 2017

I had severe bronchitis and on a Saturday night breathing became very difficult. I phoned Dr. Martin and he answered immediately even though he was at a party out of town. I described the problem, and he told me to go to the ED of a nearby hospital. I was concerned that on a Saturday night the ED would be packed. When I arrived breathing was becoming very laborous, and I saw that my assumption was correct. It was a mob-scene! As I reached the reception desk and gave my name two nurses and a wheelchair greeted me and immediately wheeled me back and I was seen by a physician within two minutes. In no more than five minutes I was being given a breathing treatment and a shot of steroids. Emergency over. That alone was worth my annual fee.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Todd, SC Sep 30, 2016

I don't know where to start about what type of Doctor/Man Dr. Martin is. I have known him for about 12 years and had not talked to him or seen him In 10 years when I sent him a text. It was literally about 2 minutes and his familiar compassionate voice was on the phone. He was calling me and talking with me like we had seen each other everyday. He had not changed a bit. He talked to me for a while and we caught up and he told me to make an appointment with Elise for three days out. I went in as a new patient since it had been a while and I could not believe that my paperwork was entered, I was checked in, and before I could take a seat in the waiting room my name was being called. That's incredible. I was in an exam room within 9 minutes of my arrival. Dr. Martin came in and was seated before me within 5 minutes after getting in a room. From there it was just like old times. He talked to me as if we were sitting on a front porch somewhere while allthewhile meticulously scouring my medical records and addressing my issues with precise and straightforward detail. He then outlined a plan on how to get me where I should be health wise ( and I have a LOT of medical Conditions ). I am 1000 confident that he has ME in his best interest and that he will change my life with his care. Awesome doctor and staff!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Cathryne, SC Feb 8, 2015

there is no greater love for a doctor than to choose to drive 2 hrs one way to see, to interact, to be cared for and talked to ......eye to eye, like a best friend. i have known dr. martin many years, and he has never changed....when he is still outside and the door to my room is closed, just his voice on the other side gives me comfort..then when he walks in, with his smile, if he is pleased with your results, or........his caring, no fooling around look.....i know that he is there wholeheartedly for ME......he is my best friend because he cares.....he is an anchor in my life........i truly love my doctor and his choice to give his patients the very best personalized care available. and......he makes me feel like i am important to him as a person.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Sandra, SC Mar 28, 2014

I Iove this man! My mother and I moved to Columbia, SC in 1987. My mother had a long history of migraines and started seeing Dr. Martin's father, Dr. Martin Sr., when he feel ill Dr. Martin, Jr. started seeing my mom, and my family as well. He was thorough, caring, and compassionate. I grew up and moved away and my mom moved back to Tennessee. In 2010, my mother was diagnosed with brain cancer. She had multiple treatments and was advised by Duke Medical University. October 2013 she went into the hospital and returned home with my husband and I in Charleston, SC. I didn't know what to do about medical care! I called Dr. Martin on his after hours # during office hours on the chance he would remember us. I left a message with my mom's name and that I didn't know if he would remember us, but I needed his help. He called back within an hour! Brooke, Dr. Martin, what's going on with Sandy? I told him everything that mom had been through and that I didn't have much faith in family medicine anymore. I needed him to see her, he said Of course I'll see her! It had been 7 years since he saw her (us) and when he walked in the exam room, it was like we never went away. I am so grateful for Dr. Martin, there are no words to express my gratitude!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Hudson & Dona, SC Feb 26, 2014

At 80 years old and after 20 plus years under the vigilant care of Dr. Martin, we continue to be a Healthy, Wealthy, and Wise happy well- adjusted couple--celebrating 60 years of marriage this year. We have complete confidence that our every need will be immediately met by an extremely competent and loving doctor and staff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

April, SC Feb 24, 2014

I count this as an honor to be able to express how awesome of a Dr. I have. Dr. Frank Martin is a one of a kind! SInce I have joined MDVIP he has shown nothing but love, hard work, and determination, to all of his patients. He makes all of his patients fells the same love and I appreciate that about him. I have never left his office without felling like I have the best. The nurses and receptionist are wonderful and kind as well! The environment is very relaxing, and the wait is never long. They believe in getting you in and out at appointments. I love the fact that if you need an X-ray everything is right there, and you don't have to travel to get it. Dr. Martin makes you feel like a family member of his. This is how I feel when I visit him for my appointments, and that really means a lot to me . My husband is currently not a member at this time due to finances, however he does attend Palmetto Family Medicine and receive awesome services too. My Husband recently broke his fingers and we needed a Orthopedic doctor, and I called Dr. Martin because I knew HE WOULD recommend the best to us, and he did. After my husband surgery, he had severe pain, and I had to take him back to Columbia to the hospital. I called Dr. Martin after hours and he told me the best place to go, and went beyond his duties and called the ER. When we arrived they were waiting on us and took him straight back. I also love the fact that you can get an appointment the same day. A MAN that goes ABOVE AND BEYOND HIS CALL OF DUTY! THANKS DR. MARTIN YOUR THE GREATEST!!!!!! May God continue to order your steps and keep you in his care.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Barbara, SC Feb 24, 2014

I have gone to Frank Martin, Jr. as long as he has been in practice. Actually, I was a patient of his fathers until he retired. As time went by and the practice grew with the times, I would have to wait longer and longer in the waiting room and had a harder time getting in if I were sick. Since Dr. Martin has joined in MDVIP, it is a pleasure to go to an appointment. I never have to wait more than a few minutes to be seen. When I am sick, I call or just show up and am taken in right away. If I have any questions, he actually has the time to talk with me and discuss any problems. He is a compassionate doctor and a kind person. My husband is also a patient of Dr. Martins and also appreciates Dr. Martins skill and kindness. Not only is a pleasure to see him, but I think he is much more relaxed with his practice. Dr. Martin is a great doctor and I am thrilled to be his patient and friend. Thank you

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Michael, SC Feb 24, 2014

I was introduced to Frank Martin through the woman that is now my wife. She was a patient of Franks father. From day one, I have had the good fortune to be on the receiving end of great medical care, added to the trust and confidence in any diagnosis I have received. So far, I have been through two cancers and a heart problem. Frank has been spot on with every diagnosis. He keeps me moving through life.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Theresa, SC Feb 23, 2014

Dr. Martin has been my physician for 22 or so years. Therefore, when he joined MDVIP, it took no thought on my part as to weather I would join him. He is the best doctor I've ever been to -- he is not only a great diagnostician, but he really listens to his patients (and reads the innumerable articles I've sent him over the years). He has always been very proactive and concerned with prevention. I have many, many stories of what his personal attention and concern have meant to me over the years. One only is after 6 or 7 years of being treated by 2 different allergist, I went to Dr. Martin and said I was done with their shots and huge number of meds. I said I wanted to try a macrobiotic diet. I thought he'd say (as most people did) what's that? But he knew the diet and said it was great, but hard to stick to. When I got down to 87 lbs on this diet, he was the only person who said don't worry, you'll level off and I did. But, he literally saved my husband's life by early detection of esophageal cancer. After chemo, radiation and 10 hours of surgery 4 years ago, he is still cancer free. These are only a couple of the many stories I could tell. He is an amazing, attentive and kind doctor. I was so concerned that his patient load would be full before I could sign up so, no doubt, I was one of the first to sign up!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

troy, SC Feb 19, 2014

My experience with mdvip has been great.i can get appointments quickly and dr martin has always been there for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

M Linda, SC Feb 14, 2014

Well, I have to start my story by saying Dr Martin's MDVIP photo doesn't do him justice! Aside from physical attributes Dr Martin has created a close Dr/Patient relationship with my husband and me . Honestly, I don't know how he does it. I feel like I'm his only concern. And he does the same for my husband! No matter how trivial something might be, he never fails to give it his full attention. Recently, I was convinced that I had stress-related heart problems. Dr Martin immediately scheduled a cutting edge heart ultra-sound for me. I am inspired by his dedication to his profession. He makes me expect to age in the healthiest fashion possible. One conversation my husband and I have had is what we'll do if/when Dr Martin retires. With his customary glint in his eye, he promises he won't retire until we die. Ya gotta love a promise like that!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
J. Frank Martin Jr., MD

Jim & Brenda, SC Feb 12, 2014

Frank has been my doctor ever since he became a doctor. Before that his Dad. I had a massive heart attack in 1986. Frank has been amazing and almost miraculous in keeping me around for the last 28 years. However, his ability to work with his patients has soared since joining MDVIP. He treats both my wife and me, and accessibility and the medical care he gives us is phenomenal. His staff is fantastic also. Thank you Frank. We owe you so much. You are always there for us. Love you man!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
No results found.