Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

William B. Holgerson, MD

Anne, MA Mar 26, 2017

Dr. Holgerson, MD has been my doctor probably since the late 1970s and also my late husband's doctor. He has always been caring in there for both of us through many major illnesses. I feel I can call him and talk to him when ever I need to do so.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Andrew Mar 5, 2017

It is hard to believe that it is now coming up on 5 years since I was smart and lucky enough to choose Dr. Holgerson as my PCP. He has helped me in so many ways, starting with reconstructing my emotional life, which fell apart during 2012-13 when I was going through a very ugly divorce and estrangement from my entire family. When I look back I realize how close I became to becoming dependent upon alcohol, e.g., in Spring 2012 drinking so much at night that I couldnt remember anything the next morning. He interceded strongly in late May 2012 with anti-depressants and a strict prohibition against drinking. That was critical to put me on the path to recovery. Through the aftereffects of my mother-in-laws death in May 2012, divorce in June 2013, the death of my ex-wife and brother in June 2014, and the ongoing estrangement from my son Mark and his family, Bill Holgerson's calm advice has helped greatly. When I first came to him, I also had serious worries about my heart due to the strong family history of CVD and cardiac arrest. These worries had even led to panic attacks in 2009-10, and nobody seemed to be able to quell that worry, so that I always thought heart attack whenever I had a pain anywhere near my chest. Over the 5 years, Dr. Holgerson has been very patient in responding to my many emails worrying about CVD, whether I was living in Boston or Tampa or traveling in India, New Zealand or Europe. Each time, he reminded me that I exercise for 1-2 hours every day as a dedicated bicyclist and fitness buff, asked about how my pain responded to the exercise, and when I always told him that I felt better after the exercise, pointed out that would not be the case if I had CVD or a heart attack. It almost seems like a broken record, but it was very important for me to hear over and over again! Now, my improved emotional and my belief in my strong physical health have led me to move from retirement in Tampa to seeking work in the DC metro area. I want to assist in building a NPO in the medical/scientific/education areas. I am excited and enthused about life again!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Dorothea, MA Mar 4, 2014

Hi, I am in very good health and would like to keep it that way given good health is one of the most important things in life next to family and friends. When Dr. Holgerson joined MDVIP, my husband and I had to discuss justifying the expense to join MDVIP and here were our thoughts. 1. Dr. Holgerson has been our internist for many years and we have been so pleased with his care - how can we change doctors 2. Money spent on health maintenance is one of the best things to do with one's money 3. Prevention, knowlegde, and responsiveness is critical and Dr. Holgerson is wonderful with all 3 aspects of our care. 4. He understands us and we feel he can identify with us since we are of the same age group. 5. He is so smart and on top of things - we could not be in better hands 6. I just had a small problem and within just a few minutes of sending an email, I had a response which I do not believe would ever be possible without the MDVIP arrangement. 7. I could go on but I would recommend MDVIP to anyone who can manage the cost - it is soooo worth it. Thank you to Dr. Holgerson. PS. His office staff, especially Maria and Mary are also great and so helpful always. Thanks to them also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Elaine, MA Feb 24, 2014

Dr. Holgerson has three important gifts that make him stand out: the ability to listen, the ability to make a real connection with his patients, and a great sense of humor. The office has a personality. The artwork, the books, and the staff create an environment that is warm and welcoming. I feel so incredibly fortunate to have myself and my family under Dr. Holgerson's care.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

John, MA Feb 23, 2014

My experience with Dr. Holgerson goes back some 27 years. He was actually my first doctor in my adult life and it was my life that he saved.I had never had any physical problems in my life and therefore never had a physician. At 48 I had an angioplasty procedure and I was still experiencing what I believed to be chest pain from my heart. The angioplasty had gone so well and simply that I could not believe that I was well. After several stress tests my cardiologist told me I had the heart of a sixteen year old and he asked me who my doctor was. Dr. Holgerson was recommended by a dear friend of his and mine and in one visit he listened,diagnosed and sent me home for the weekend to try a medication he recommended. He told me to call him on Monday and see if I felt better. On Monday I reported that I felt much better. It probably sounds simple that I was suffering from Gerd but to me it was a life saver. I really felt that I was on the way to a fatal heart episode. I'm now much older but Dr. Holgerson still looks a young as when I first met him. Thank you Doctor Bill for all you have done for my health and well being.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

John, MA Feb 23, 2014

My experience with Dr. Holgerson goes back some 27 years. He was actually my first doctor in my adult life and it was my life that he saved.I had never had any physical problems in my life and therefore never had a physician. At 48 I had an angioplasty procedure and I was still experiencing what I believed to be chest pain from my heart. The angioplasty had gone so well and simply that I could not believe that I was well. After several stress tests my cardiologist told me I had the heart of a sixteen year old and he asked me who my doctor was. Dr. Holgerson was recommended by a dear friend of his and mine and in one visit he listened,diagnosed and sent me home for the weekend to try a medication he recommended. He told me to call him on Monday and see if I felt better. On Monday I reported that I felt much better. It probably sounds simple that I was suffering from Gerd but to me it was a life saver. I really felt that I was on the way to a fatal heart episode. I'm now much older but Dr. Holgerson still looks a young as when I first met him. Thank you Doctor Bill for all you have done for my health and well being.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Joanne, MA Feb 23, 2014

Dr. William Holgerson has been my primary care for close to thirty years. When he joined MDVIP there was no hesitation on my part or my husband that we would follow him. He is one of the most intelligent and compassionate physicians I have known in my seventy plus years. He is readily available and caring. If there is problem outside of his expertise he recommends the appropiate specialist. Dr. Holgerson is highly respected by the medical community as well as his patients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Pamela, MA Feb 23, 2014

Bill Holgerson is everyone's dream doctor. He listens, patiently and carefully, and he hears what is not being said as clearly as what is. He treats me like a full partner in caring for my health. He has been with me through raising my small children to productive adulthood (while simulaneously raising his own), through my husband's devastating and finally fatal illness, early difficult and finally comfortable widowhood, and now facing the challenges of getting older (NOT YET OLD) which he also gets. He has an uncanny ability to recommend the specialists who are not only the best but also to whom I am most likely to relate. However, he only refers when he feels another opinion is in my best interest. Otherwise, he is confident in his own ability to take care of me, and so am I. I am grateful beyond words for his care and support -- and by this point, his friendship!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Julie E, MA Feb 15, 2014

From the office support staff to Dr. Holgerson himself everyone is responsive and focused on getting you the help you need. My husband and I have been grateful for the ability to address even small problems quickly and not feel foolish for calling over something that turns out to be nothing. Medical issues can be frightening and we worry so much less because we feel we are a phone call away from being taken care of. Dr. Holgerson is an excellent diagnostician with one exception. He failed to recognize that the Red Sox could indeed win the World Series.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Betsy, MA Feb 13, 2014

I have known William Holgerson for many years - starting back when he was a medical resident at our local hospital and I was a nurse in the CCU. When I heard he went into private practice locally, I immediately entered his practice -- I Think that was about 20-25 years ago. He is now part of MDVIP and I still thoroughly enjoy his wisdom and efficient, wise, and friendly personality. He is always available and always has a n answer to everything !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

H. Richard, MA Feb 12, 2014

I moved with Bill Holgerson to his MDVIP practice because I knew that this would allow Bill to be even more keenly aware of his patients. This awareness is a mark of Bill's practice. His awareness of his patients is why I firmly believe I am here today, abled to write this note. I had a heart attack 20 years ago. At that time I notified Bill's office of my discomfort and asked what I should do. Bill forwarded the message that I should go to the emergency unit at N-W Hospital. While there my vitals were checked and a cardiogram was performed. The results of the tests were consistent with my previous year's physical; so, I was about to be released. Before that could happen BIll was made aware of my results but his knowledge of me prompted him to see if it was possible for me to get examined with an echocardiogram. That test showed that 35 of my heart was in spasm. Because of Bill I firmly believe, fifteen days later, that I was abled to walk out of a hospital versus being carried out from another location.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
William B. Holgerson, MD

Heather, MA Feb 12, 2014

My story with Dr. Bill didn't just start when he became an MDVIP doctor. I go back 35 years when as a 22 year old fresh out of college and with a very sore and infected big toe. I was referred to Dr. Bill by a co-worker. He took one look at that inflamed toe, put is arm around me and said, That toe looks like it hurts pretty badly. If I lance that, not only will it hurt like the dickens and you will not like me, but I predict you will never come back. He gave me an oral med and in the appropriate amount of time it was all better. Fast forward about 30 years with all kinds of wonderful treatment in between, when I was vacationing with a girlfriend in Florida. I get back to my cell phone after a glorious day at the beach and there is a message from a friend of my husband's saying he was taken to the hospital earlier with stroke-like symptoms. I called Dr. Bill immediately. He was with a client but called me back within 10 minutes and after a lengthy discussion had me fairly well relaxed with what he considered to be not a stroke, but a benign case of TMI (transglobal amnesia). He gave me his cell phone number and said anytime in the next few days and forever after if I needed him, just skip calling the office and call him direct! What doctor ever did that BEFORE MDVIP came along!!! His diagnosis was, incidentally, correct! Phew!!! I also must comment about patient waiting time. What waiting time?? In all my 35 years with him, Dr. Bill has been early more often than late; and by late I mean five minutes tops. All my friends who complain about wait times at their physician's office are sooo jealous when I brag about Dr. Bill. To be honest, my care has changed very little since Bill joined MDVIP. I have always gotten the highest quality of care and personal attention from him. Nothing much has changed. Paying the money to go with MDVIP was a little eye opening, but we never hesitated for a minute. We would follow Dr. Bill wherever he went because we think he is the greatest! My husband and I consider ourselves so very fortunate to have Bill Holgerson as our PCP. He has grown to be more than just our doctor, we consider him our friend! Thanks, Bill!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
No results found.