Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

James, FL Mar 30, 2017

Dr. Blackmon is the best, most dedicated doctor I have every known. He literally saved my life in 2010 when he stayed after me to get my first colonoscopy which I had been putting off for 7 years. On his advice I did, subsequently learned I had colon cancer. Received surgery and treatment and now I am 7 years cancer free. Had I not listened to Dr. Blackmon, I would most likely not be here today.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Carol, FL Mar 28, 2017

My husband and I live full time in a motorhome traveling the US,a great adventure. We have some serious health concerns so this life style would not be possible without Dr. Donald Blackmon. We can reach out via phone ,email to Dr. and he will direct us to another MDVIP physician,order test via fax to out of state medical facilities.....when results of tests are available to Dr. he then communicates with us and orders or councils as needed. His office staff are helpful,kind,efficient and really try to make life easier for us. MIDVIP and Dr.Blackmon equal reassurance.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Jamie, FL Mar 9, 2016

Dr Blackmon and I have been working together toward a goal of getting me healthy and off as many of the medications as possible. I've never had a doctor that listens to me in such a way as to get me healthy. I greatly appreciate the report that we have. If I have a problem after hours I can call him and he'll call in a prescription if it's needed.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Jack and Kathleen, FL Feb 25, 2014

Dr. Blackmon's easy availability and unhurried manner are vestiges of those of physicians of a bygone era. But his emphasis on the health and well being of his patients is at the cutting edge of today's medicine and a welcome relief from the 'sick care' model practiced by many of his contemporaries. My wife and I greatly value his approach and our relationship with him and his competent staff

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

James W., FL Feb 24, 2014

I started having pain in my ear one Sunday. Dr. Blackmon saw me that morning, I was diagnosed w/ shingles. I started meds immediately and within 2 days the pain had stopped. I have been able to continue bicycles, in the attached picture I had completed Six Gap Century in Dahlonega, GA. I was in the saddle a little over 7 hours. Dr. Blackmon has made all this possible with quick and expert care.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Audrey, FL Feb 21, 2014

I've been a patient of Dr. Blackmon's for over 15 yrs. & have always received excellent care. He's kind, understanding and he really listens. I'm very thankful to be a part of the MDVIP program which gives me more time with my Dr. Thank you Dr. Blackmon for your excellent care & concern for my health!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Homer, FL Feb 21, 2014

Thank you Dr. Blackmon for how you use your adequate training, vast experience, and dedication to evaluate pertinent new medical research findings to prescribe the best individual prescription for me. Also I appreciate the extra time that you use to explain the results of my blood test at my annual physical rather than only use the statistical averages.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

George, FL Feb 20, 2014

My wife and I have been associated with Dr Blackmon by way of a recommendation of a good friend and his wife who are also Blackmon patients. The Good Doctor has taken great care of both of us. He is always available, genuinely interested in our health and has always come up with the right answers regardless of the circumstances or urgency of the issue. He and his friendly and helpful staff make us feel like we are family. He recently assisted me while experiencing a medical emergency which resulted in an operation on my spine which was performed by a neurosurgeon recommended by Dr Blackmon and highly successful. He encourage my wife to pursue a wellness program which primarily consisted of eating less red meat and potatoes and more fruit. I joined in and we have both lost more weight than either of us ever expected to. Dr Blackmon is the type of caretaker we all are looking for and fortunately, we found him.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Shirley, FL Feb 20, 2014

Dr. Blackmon has far exceeded mine and my husband's expectations. He is by far the most caring and professional physician we have known for many tears. His responsiveness to our telephone calls and email questions, and his thorough explanation of blood work results must surpass other physicians even at the most well known teaching hospitals. Dr. Blackmon listens well and has thoughtfully guided us through significant health concerns.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Ann, FL Feb 19, 2014

Dr. Blackmon has been our family physician for over 20 years. We appreciate his ability to make critical comments but with care and an emphasis on keeping us healthy. As a retired scientist, I appreciate his thoroughness. The MDVIP system gives him even more latitude to explain and discuss test results. We have recommended him to family members and friends who are also pleased

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Patricia, FL Feb 17, 2014

My husband and I have been going to Dr. Blackmon since we moved to Pensacola years ago. We never even considered changing physicians when he closed his practice and went with MDVIP because we trust him completely to monitor our health and provide us with the latest in medical science to keep us healthy and enjoying life. He always takes time to talk to us at length about concerns we have and he answers all our questions without hurrying. We can call him at all hours and he will get back to us quickly. He advises us without lecturing us and he is as happy with our good reports as we are. I like that he shows us on his computer our blood work numbers and always explains each one ~ especially if one is in question. The annual physical is very thorough and we know that his connection to Cleveland Clinic is an additional benefit for us. He walks into the room smiling, never grumpy or unpleasant. His office staff is the best of any medical office we've ever visited. They are just as friendly and concerned about us as the doctor is. His office waiting room is warm and comfortable. As long as we can afford the annual costs, we won't even consider going to another doctor. We know he's the best. Even our doctor friends go to him!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Donald L. Blackmon, Jr., MD

Barbara "Ann", FL Feb 12, 2014

From the first time I met with Dr. Blackmon I knew I had found a physician that genuinely cared about his patients. He listens to each and every word you say and responds in a kind, caring, gentle voice. After my initial workup it was found my cholesterol was elevated somewhat and he took lots of time instructing and encouraging me to work on bringing the values down. One way to do this, he said, was regular exercise and I had negative comments about all his suggestions but he did not give up on me! At my next annual exam, with much the same findings as a year earlier, he went through the same suggestions with me and this time I realized he was not just repeating words but that he genuinely cared about my health and wanted a healthier life for me. With this I began water aerobics and was so proud to tell him this at my three month followup! I could see the pleasure in his face knowing his coaching had made me see the light and that he had helped make a difference in my life! I am so grateful for Dr. Blackmon and the MDVIP program.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
No results found.