Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Greg Ferrara, MD

Mirelle, LA Mar 11, 2016

I have been health conscious for years but about 6 years ago, I began to have some health issues that were out of my control that reguired several surgeries and I was recovering well. My husband and I like to travel. In 2013, I needed my doctor to change my blood pressure medication dosage while I was out of town. It took 4 days for the staff to finally accomplish that task. We were in our summer residence, and the change was not sufficient. I felt the need to find someone who could help me sooner rather than later and I knew that a hospital emergency room was not the answer. I chose to call Dr Ferrara and decided that he was the doctor for me. I was completely satisfied. He was able to change my medication and I am doing well. Having high blood pressure caused me to fear traveling away from my home. I can travel now knowing that I can communicate with his staff or him, if necessary, and that he will be able to act in a reasonable amount of time and or find me help wherever I am. I now have a doctor who knows my history, and is able to respond to my healthcare needs. Interestingly, I have been healthier in the last two years than I had been over the previous 4 years. Dr. Ferrara has also referred me to a specialist to clear up a misdiagnosis from a previous health issue, which has also relieved me to know that I do not have the chronic health issue with which I had been diagnosed. I felt that the diagnosis was incorrect, but I needed validation by a true specialist. With Dr. Ferrara's help, I was able to connect easily with the proper specialist. Dr. Ferrara is able to get to know a little about me and my family situation which I believe helps. Sometimes doctors think patients should just stop working or doing the tasks that they do. Well, not all patients have the luxury of taking it easy when they are caregivers for other ill family members. This is something that he can take the time to understand and most doctors do not have the time to listen. I just do not worry anymore about being tied to one place just so I can be close to my doctor, or that my doctor will not get my message or respond for days. I am very grateful to be able to keep on moving and to see my chidren and grandchildren and family.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

Britt, LA Feb 10, 2015

Dr. Ferrara continues to exceed my expectations for healthcare. He reminds me of doctors of long ago; who treated their patients with expertise tempered by common sense. Thank you Dr. Ferrara!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

Gary, LA Oct 8, 2014

I've known Greg, yes first name basis, since shortly after he set up practice in Baton Rouge. Through multiple changes in my company's insurance, and at points I decided I would pay for his services out of pocket rather than change to whatever doctor some HMO decided I needed to go to, I'm very glad that I've stuck with him because he has always stuck with me. It is hard to find a more caring person or a more dedicated staff. I was a little concerned when he joined MDVIP but I understood his desire to slow down a little and provide the care to his patients that they thought they deserved rather than fight the insurance companies and medicare/medicade dilemma seeing x amount of patients in x amount of time to be profitable in todays society. He ALWAYS has time for me and, as the professional that he his, he makes me feel valuable to him. His staff, Cherie and Mindy, are two of the most wonderful people on the face of the earth. Always there to assist you in any and every way they can. I feel like I'm part of their family and would not even consider changing to anything else for my health care.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

Darlene, LA Oct 7, 2014

I will start by saying that I am not one to visit Drs on a regular basis. One day on the golf course I felt like I had slight indigestion. I took the normal OTC meds. A few days later it ramped up. Without an appointment, I showed up at Dr. Ferrara. He saw me the waiting room and asked what was wrong. He went into immediate action. He called a cardiologist and even offered to drive me to the hospital. After tests and a brief hospital stay and a diagnosis of 'gastritis' I was sent home. Symptoms became worse. I called Dr Ferrara again and he jumped into action! It was my heart! He listened, he reacted, he cares and he saved my life!!! We have had a long standing relationship with him. He knows our family and always asks about them! He is an avid golfer, as we are, and he loves to chat it up about the sport. I know many people that go to him and everyone feels the same way. He is a great physician and a man of true character. I'm honored to call him our physician! I also want to say that he has the most professional staff that cares about your health as much as he does! This prestigious honor is well deserved!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

KELLY, LA Mar 19, 2014

Doc Greg and his staff are amazing ! We Loved them before MDVIP, but we really like the closer relationship that we are able to have with him and his staff now. They are available at all times and truley seem to care about what we want and expect in a heath care provider. Don't change a thing ! As far as we are concerned we couldn't be happier.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

Veronica, LA Feb 24, 2014

Dr Ferrara is a wonderful person. He takes his job seriously. He allows the patient to have the right to make informed decisions regarding the his/her health care. He provides guidance so you can take responsiblity for your health. He alway demonstrates an holistic approach to his clients and their family dynamics. Preventive care is very important to Dr Ferrara. He truely wants to keep his clients healthy and happy. Dr Ferrara is not only my doctor but he is also a friend and family member.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

GROVER & JANIE, LA Feb 22, 2014

DR. GREG IS ALWAYS AVAILABLE WHEN WE CALL ..WE ENJOY HIS COMMENTS AND OFFICE STAFF..WE CONSIDER THEM OUR MEDICAL FAMILY..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

Celestain, LA Feb 20, 2014

even befor D R V I P Dr greg was a caring doctor always ready to here any problems and help any way he or his staff could

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

James, LA Feb 18, 2014

First let me start by saying thanks to Greg for his concern and availability to me and my family during my recent stroke (May 2013). He was there to answer my questions and guide me. Today, I am well on my way to a successful recovery. Next let me tell you what a great person he is; as well as a great physician. Our families has been friends for over 30 years and hopfully we will have another 30 years of friendship. This is a testament to the kind of person he is. Greg has taken great interest in my physical well being and has proved me with support and recommendations about controlling my weight, getting more physically active, and managing my diabetes (diagnosed Sept. 2012). Greg truely lives up to his role as a caring physician always going the extra mile for his patients. HAPPPY DOCTORS DAY, GREG You are a truly a great physician but even a better friend to us.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

William, LA Feb 18, 2014

Doctor Ferrara is the first to ever put me in the hospital for an illness. I was 67 at the time. I was there about a week, and saw his face several of those days. I have no doubt this is the exception rather than the rule. This was much appreciated. The wellness program has made my wife and I more aware of the things we should and should not be doing at our age. This guy gets high marks from this family.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

michael, LA Feb 13, 2014

Being our family doctor, Dr Ferrara and his staff have always been of great support to me and my family. Every visit is done with kindness, patience and professionalism. I travel a lot and Its very comforting to know he is only a phone call away 24/7. Thank you and your wonderful staff for all you do. Please know you are appreciated

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Greg Ferrara, MD

Julie, LA Feb 12, 2014

As a Type I diabetic - I need my physician quite often. Before MDVIP it was scary knowing that if I had a problem -it may be two weeks before I could be seen. Being a patient of Dr Ferrara means that I will be seen the same day I call the office. But in addition to the quickness of being seen, I am being cared for by physician who sincerely CARES for me...... And wants to take care of me. In the25 years of having diabetes - Dr Ferrara has given me a sense of peace that no other physician has been able to give me. If I need him - he's there. It's just that simple. THANK YOU Dr Ferrara for all you have done, all you do, and all you will continue to do. From the bottom of my heart.... Thank you.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.