Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Dick, VA Oct 8, 2014

Dr. Crantz has been my primary care physician since 1990. When she decided to become an MDVIP affiliated physician a few years ago, it was an easy decision for me to stay with her. Whenever I need medical care, counsel, etc., she has been there for me - without fail! During all my appointments with her these past 24 years, she always set aside enough time to listen to me. That is very rare today. Her recent recognition as One of the Best Doctors in 2014 is well deserved and (by the way) comes as no surprise to me. She is simply an exceptional Doctor.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

kathy, VA Oct 8, 2014

We live on a boat and are not based in a single location. We do expeditio-style cruising, traveling to some very remote areas where we need to be self-sufficient in all things, including medical care. It's great to have a doctor who understands our situation and is comfortable with communication via phone and email. It's also good to know that when we are in some remote place, if we were to need medical advice, we have not only Dr. Crantz but the MDVIP Network to help us. We hope never to have the need for medical advice when we are out of range of help, but knowing we are only a satellite phone call away is reassuring.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

elissa, VA Oct 8, 2014

It was Christmas Eve, and my daughter and her family from Martha's Vineyard had come for the holidays. In the middle of dinner, my son in law developed a debilitating migraine. What were we to do. I picked up the phone, called Dr. Crantz's office, and to my astonishment had a call back from Dr. Crantz within minutes with the offer of a solution that worked like a charm! Pretty special!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Sarah, VA Feb 27, 2014

If Dr. Crantz told me I should jump off a roof, I would do so. She is one of the most extraordinary people I have ever met and I have total faith in her! She knows if a patient needs extra time during a visit and she provides it, but I have never been kept waiting for an appointment. I feel that Dr. Crantz is both my doctor and a very good friend!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Linda, VA Feb 24, 2014

Dr. Crantz has been my partner-in-health for over thirty-five years, an exceedingly fortunate situation for me. Even before Dr. Crantz became affiliated with MDVIP, she has always been available when I needed her. I had shopped for a new primary care physician by conducting telephone interviews. Dr. Crantz was the only doctor who agreed to an interview. I liked her immediately and made an appointment to see her for the first time. A few days before the appointment, I fell on my way to work and knocked out my front teeth. My husband, Paul, and I were going to his law school reunion the following weekend, so my first concern was getting my teeth fixed. I didnt know how bad my shiner was going to be by the end of the week! My dentist took care of me right away but told me I needed to see my doctor about the lacerations on my face, which were bleeding and filled with grit that I had not been able to wash off. I dont have a doctor right now, I told him. Im supposed to see a new doctor for the first time next week. Weve only talked on the phone. She doesnt even know me. My dentist said, Call her. Now! Its a good time to get acquainted. I called Dr. Crantzs office, explained the situation, and was told to come in immediately. Not tomorrow. Not this afternoon. Now! Now is a good word to hear when you need medical attention. As you can see, Dr. Crantz and I started our relationship with a crisis. She was there for me before we had even met, and I knew I had found my new primary care physician for as long as she would be willing to partner with me in my health care. Thats why when I received the letter from Dr. Crantz explaining her decision to go with MDVIP, I did not hesitate. I didnt even discuss it with Paul. Im sure I was among the first of her patients to sign on, and my husband agreed after the fact. Paul didnt want me to lose Dr. Crantz any more than I did. The latest examples of her special caring were last fall. I had been suffering with sciatica for several months. We had tried a 6-day dose of methylprednisolone earlier, which had provided immediate but not lasting relief. Paul and I planned to go on a 6-day tour of Berlin the first week in November. I asked Dr. Crantz if I could have another 6-day dose of methylprednisolone to get me through the trip. She agreed that I had responded well to that treatment before and thought it would work again. It did, and we had a fabulous week a pain-free one for me in one of our bucket-list cities. See photo of Paul and me in front of Berlins Charlottenburg Palace. Upon our return from Berlin, the sciatic pain also returned and grew worse. Just two days before Thanksgiving the pain had become intense and prescription narcotics did not help. I went to see Dr. Crantz, barely able to walk with the help of a cane, a tool that, as an active 73-year-old, I usually did not need. She took one look at me and said, Youre miserable! We have to get to the bottom of this. You need to get an MRI right away. Dr. Crantz and I are both conservative about expensive tests unless they are absolutely necessary, but it was time. Her office manager called and got an appointment for that evening at 8:30! No waiting! Now! Theres that word again. The next morning, Dr. Crantz received the MRI results and called to tell me that I had a cyst between lumbar 4 and 5. No wonder the pain was worse! Before I could even change clothes, I got a phone call from Fairfax Radiology to come immediately for a steroid injection. The diagnostic radiologist, Dr. Muller, was waiting for me, delaying his holiday getaway at Dr. Crantzs request. With any luck, Dr. Muller would be able to rupture the cyst with the needle that he would use for the injection. The strategy worked! We both heard it pop, and as soon as the anesthetic wore off, I knew had instant pain relief! And why? Because, as Dr. Muller explained, Dr. Crantz did not want me to be in pain on Thanksgiving Day. Now that is not only caring; its caring AND delivering! Now! Dr. Crantz called me on Thanksgiving Eve to see how I was feeling. We were both preparing dishes for the next day and my Thanksgiving was pain-free all because of my wonderful doctor who knows how to get things done. I may be a bit prejudiced, but I think shes the best doctor in the whole world! We are partners for life!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Tom & Alex, VA Feb 23, 2014

My wife and I are in our mid-70's and have been married for over a half a century. Our two sons are surgeons, and we have witnessed the practice of medicine advance with the technological changes but, unfortunately, due to declining reimbursements, personalized patient care has suffered. This is the reason why my wife and I opted to join Dr. Crantz in her practice with MDVIP. During our short time in the practice, this personalized medicine has benefited both my wife and me. Each of us faced a potential life-threatening medical event which required prompt attention. Both times, Dr. Crantz's efficient and detailed-oriented care set an algorithm in place which assured an excellent outcome. She did this with great empathy which is rare to find in the often over-burdened medical practices of today Let this serve as an endorsement of the exemplary medical care of Dr. Joanne Crantz.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Diann, VA Feb 20, 2014

I've known Dr Crantz for probably over 20 years as a pharma rep and 3 as her patient. I saw first hand how she cared about her patients when I attended resident and grand rounds. When I needed a new doctor, I knew who I wanted - it was her. When she became affiliated with MDVIP, cost was secondary as long as she would remain my doctor. She has a great way of making you feel at ease while you are seeing her. It feels like you can talk with her about any problem. She never rushes through appointments and she is genuinely interested in her patients and their well being. She definitely helped me work through stressful times with aging parents. What I loved was instead of prescribing a pill, she had me enroll in the Stress Management Course from the Cleveland Clinic. I've noticed that many things that used to trigger stress reactions and unhealthy behavior (such as binge eating or having an extra drink) , no longer seem out of control. This proved true when we recently put our dog down. Instead of wallowing, I decided exercise would be far more beneficial. She has helped me learn better eating habits and being an advocate for myself as opposed to ignoring my needs while helping everyone else. She takes the time to explain labs and what they mean and how changing some health habits will impact those numbers and future health benefits/consequences. Her staff reflects her so beautifully- they are professional, friendly and as a patient it feels like they, too, are advocates for you. MDVIP is extremely lucky to her on their staff. I always checked with doctors at the hospital as to who I should go to for different things. As an Internal Med doctor her name always came up first and many of them go to her- that is the best compliment of all among doctors. She is highly respected in not only IM but is tops in her field among Geriatrics.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Eileen, VA Feb 14, 2014

Dear Dr. Crantz, I would like you to know how much I enjoy my relationship with you. At a time with incredible anxiety in the healthcare forum, I feel relieved to know that you are my doctor and I can call whenever I need your help. You are a warm, compassionate person and genuinely interested in the lives of your patients. Although I have been your patient for only a few years, I look forward to your humor and advice for many years to come! You a truly a gem and my admiration for you grows with each visit!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Nancy, VA Feb 13, 2014

I am so glad we decided to continue our relationship with Dr. Crantz when she joined MDVIP. My husband and I both love the ease of getting an appointment. We greatly appreciate Dr. Crantz's diagnostic and treatment ability and the competence of the specialists to whom we are referred when necessary. The office staff is great--friendly and supportive, especially Jacqueline. I am not a big fan of going to the doctor--but the environment in Dr. Crantz's office is calming even for me.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

Richard, VA Feb 7, 2014

Dr Crantz is an outstanding doctor who takes the time to ensure that all of my personal medical needs are addressed in a timely, thorough and thoughtful manner. I couldnt be happier with her increased flexibility since she joined the MDVIP network.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Joanne G. Crantz, MD, FACP

kathy, VA Feb 6, 2014

We spend the majority of time cruising about our 72-foot boat, often in remote places. Our lifestyle does not meet the norms in that we don't live in one spot and when cruising we have to be very self sufficient, including being able to handle medical issues when we are not close to any facilities. Having a doctor who understands this lifestyle and who is accessible by phone and email is a huge difference for us. We know that Dr. Crantz is always there to help us in the event of an emergency and she knows who we are, what capabilities we have, and how to help us. When I visit for my annual checkup, I appreciate the quality time we have to discuss all aspects of my health. I'm very happy with my care.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.