Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Helen, TX Apr 1, 2017

I so appreciated your stopping by the hospital to check on me in an unofficial capacity. It meant alot,

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Myrna, TX Mar 30, 2017

Best choice I have ever made for a Dr.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Georgia, TX Mar 29, 2017

Dr. McGowen has been my doctor for over 20 years. I have always had excellent care and trust in his judgment. When he has referred me to other doctors for treatment I have found that they are also the very best. I recently moved from the Dallas-Fort Worth area but still drive back to Arlington to see Dr. McGowen when I need medical care. The 6 1/2 hour is worth it. His staff is also the very best. They are always considerate and caring when I call. I thank them all for the care I have received.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Rikk, TX Mar 29, 2017

Dr. McGowen and staff have been a very positive influence in my life. I have a great quality of life thanks to the care I receive.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Don, TX Mar 29, 2017

Dr. McGowen and his staff are the very best. Love them and their dedication.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Elsa, TX Mar 22, 2017

I have complete trust and confidence in Dr. McGowen. He listens to my health concerns and whenever necessary he makes referrals, always with my input. Referrals to other doctors have also been top notch. I am also amazed at how informed he is on the latest medical news. He does his homework. I have been a patient for more than 22 yrs. Whenever, I have a need to contact him, he is there with a return phone call. Compared to so many of my friends who cannot get time with their physicians and/or quality medical care, I feel very blessed to be part of Dr. McGowen's MDVIP program. It's not about the cost; it's about the quality of care. He also has a great staff. They know my voice when I call and are quick to respond to my questions and/or needs. Specific example: My husband was acting strangely detached during a visit to Indiana for my father's funeral. I called Dr. McGowen's office from there in a panic and suspecting Dementia. They got right on it and found us a new neurologist who after extensive testing told us what we did not want to hear --Parkinsons and Dementia. Proper diagnosis and a treatment plan have resulted in getting my husband back to where he was before. We know things can change at some point but for now we are taking one day at a time and making new memories.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Wahnita, TX Feb 24, 2014

Dr McGowen has been my only physician for..maybe 20-25 years. He is right on in diagnosing and treating what ever I have wrong with me. He is quick to make referrals when necessary. I trust him. I have recommended him He is worth the fee to be his patient.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Viola, TX Feb 20, 2014

Dr. McGowen is truly the best. He is caring, thorough, complete, prompt and determined in his treatment of us. Attending to all of the details by confronting them head on. Thank you Dr. McGowen!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

John, TX Feb 19, 2014

The difference between MDVIP and the typical McSession with your PCP is like the difference between eating dinner from a drive-thru while driving down the road and eating dinner at a 5 star restaurant in a fine hotel. And Dr. McGowen takes full advantage of the opportunity available thru MDVIP to provide the most thorough type of examinations and tests available. My wife and I both see Dr. McGowen and he has been a major help in leveling out health issues to insure the best possible protection against unwelcome surprises...Like a hear attack or stroke or ??? I'm glad to have had an opportunity to tell someone our opinion of both Dr. McGowen and MDVIP.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Anna Feb 19, 2014

He had been caring for my mom for over six months. While taking care of my mother, I was in and out of hospital. I wasnt feeling well but I figured it was for a good reason. I visited Dr. McGowen to get me something to sleep. He said, If you undergo a physical, I'll give you something to rest. This was fine by me; and, if he had not insisted on the physical, I would be dead. He coordinated everything and to everyone's amazement, I had third stage colon cancer. In one week he coordinated my care with the surgeon, met with my oncologist and on my 58th birthday (2003), I had surgery. I had a colon resection, in which 28 lymph nodes were removed; 18 of them had cancer. Everything fell into place the chemo and radiation. In July 2004 I was finished and then had to wait to see how it went. Thanks to Dr. McGowen, its 2014 and I am still here enjoying life with my husband and kids. With his caring, he has also saved my daughter. He knew something was wrong and kept pushing her to find out what it was. Sure enough, she had thyroid cancer and has since had four surgeries. I love this man. He is a caring and giving of his time and self to get and keep you well. I wish all doctors could be a Dr. McGowen. My family loves you.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Linda, TX Feb 19, 2014

Dr. McGowen is now free to spend time caring for his patients. His office and staff are so helpful and doctor is always available. He is kind, loving and brilliant and we are lucky to have him.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Rebecca, TX Feb 14, 2014

I know MDVIP is an excellent program with so many benefits; however the reason I joined was not to have the additional testing or be able to email Dr. McGowen or call him on his cell phone any time night or day. The sole reason I joined was to continue to have Dr. McGowen as my doctor!!! He has been my doctor for many years, with the exception of four years when my now deceased husband and I retired to Longview. One of the most exciting aspects of moving back home 2 l/2 years ago was to be welcomed back into Dr. McGowen's exceptional and compassionate care! Having lost five dear relatives in three years during my Longview residence, coming home to Dr.McGowen was so comforting. My first visit back was filled with tears as he patiently listened to the loss of my Mother, my retarded sister, my precious Uncle, the murder of my Son, and my precious husband, who died with lung cancer at age 57. He is the most thorough doctor I have ever had and there is no doubt how gigantic his heart is. I know that Dr. McGowen will leave no stone unturned in my health care. The best part about MDVIP is knowing that my doctor now has the time to take care of me according to his high ethical standards, taking the time he has craved to be the doctor he always wants to be! My only fear is that he is probably as old as me and I don't want him to retire before I move on to my heavenly home!! In my opinion, (in case you haven't figured it out!), Dr. McGowen is the epitomy of who a doctor should be!!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.