Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Wahnita, TX Feb 24, 2014

Dr McGowen has been my only physician for..maybe 20-25 years. He is right on in diagnosing and treating what ever I have wrong with me. He is quick to make referrals when necessary. I trust him. I have recommended him He is worth the fee to be his patient.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Viola, TX Feb 20, 2014

Dr. McGowen is truly the best. He is caring, thorough, complete, prompt and determined in his treatment of us. Attending to all of the details by confronting them head on. Thank you Dr. McGowen!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

John, TX Feb 19, 2014

The difference between MDVIP and the typical McSession with your PCP is like the difference between eating dinner from a drive-thru while driving down the road and eating dinner at a 5 star restaurant in a fine hotel. And Dr. McGowen takes full advantage of the opportunity available thru MDVIP to provide the most thorough type of examinations and tests available. My wife and I both see Dr. McGowen and he has been a major help in leveling out health issues to insure the best possible protection against unwelcome surprises...Like a hear attack or stroke or ??? I'm glad to have had an opportunity to tell someone our opinion of both Dr. McGowen and MDVIP.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Anna Feb 19, 2014

He had been caring for my mom for over six months. While taking care of my mother, I was in and out of hospital. I wasnt feeling well but I figured it was for a good reason. I visited Dr. McGowen to get me something to sleep. He said, If you undergo a physical, I'll give you something to rest. This was fine by me; and, if he had not insisted on the physical, I would be dead. He coordinated everything and to everyone's amazement, I had third stage colon cancer. In one week he coordinated my care with the surgeon, met with my oncologist and on my 58th birthday (2003), I had surgery. I had a colon resection, in which 28 lymph nodes were removed; 18 of them had cancer. Everything fell into place the chemo and radiation. In July 2004 I was finished and then had to wait to see how it went. Thanks to Dr. McGowen, its 2014 and I am still here enjoying life with my husband and kids. With his caring, he has also saved my daughter. He knew something was wrong and kept pushing her to find out what it was. Sure enough, she had thyroid cancer and has since had four surgeries. I love this man. He is a caring and giving of his time and self to get and keep you well. I wish all doctors could be a Dr. McGowen. My family loves you.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Linda, TX Feb 19, 2014

Dr. McGowen is now free to spend time caring for his patients. His office and staff are so helpful and doctor is always available. He is kind, loving and brilliant and we are lucky to have him.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Rebecca, TX Feb 14, 2014

I know MDVIP is an excellent program with so many benefits; however the reason I joined was not to have the additional testing or be able to email Dr. McGowen or call him on his cell phone any time night or day. The sole reason I joined was to continue to have Dr. McGowen as my doctor!!! He has been my doctor for many years, with the exception of four years when my now deceased husband and I retired to Longview. One of the most exciting aspects of moving back home 2 l/2 years ago was to be welcomed back into Dr. McGowen's exceptional and compassionate care! Having lost five dear relatives in three years during my Longview residence, coming home to Dr.McGowen was so comforting. My first visit back was filled with tears as he patiently listened to the loss of my Mother, my retarded sister, my precious Uncle, the murder of my Son, and my precious husband, who died with lung cancer at age 57. He is the most thorough doctor I have ever had and there is no doubt how gigantic his heart is. I know that Dr. McGowen will leave no stone unturned in my health care. The best part about MDVIP is knowing that my doctor now has the time to take care of me according to his high ethical standards, taking the time he has craved to be the doctor he always wants to be! My only fear is that he is probably as old as me and I don't want him to retire before I move on to my heavenly home!! In my opinion, (in case you haven't figured it out!), Dr. McGowen is the epitomy of who a doctor should be!!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Margie, TX Feb 11, 2014

I've been a patient of Dr. Bernard McGowen for over 20 years. He has always taken what ever time necessary to answer all of my health questions. Dr. McGowen will request whatever testing necessary to get to the bottom of a patients medical condition. Dr. McGowen's staff have always been very caring and very helpful anytime I've had to call his office. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a great doctor with the very best bedside manner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

John and Sharon, TX Feb 11, 2014

Thank you Dr. McGowen for listening and being sensitive to our issues. This is a great program and a great doctor. When my husband had a unexpected trip to er it was comforting to get Dr. McGowen on the phone immediately. He spoke with the er doctors and then called me back to reassure me.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Jerry, TX Feb 10, 2014

First of all, thank you for being my doctor for about thirty five years! I still remember my first visit to your office and seeing your veterinary certificates. I knew, then, that this was going to be an interesting relationship. I really have appreciated your measured and logical approach to my health needs for all these years. You have correctly diagnosed every ailment, and have never let me down. Along the way, I recommended that my wife become a patient of yours, and she did. We are so glad that you have joined MDVIP during this time of upheaval in medicine. We all have to adjust or get left behind, so my wife and I are very pleased that you have found a way to continue caring for us. Thank you so much for being our doctor and friend!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Dale, TX Feb 10, 2014

We have used Dr. McGowen as our family physician for almost 30 years. We know of his extensive medical education, and we have seen - in action - his strong commitment to maintaining good health for his patients. As an example, we were amazed that he diagnosed previously unknown, but differing, heart conditions in two members of our family during their first visits to his office. We so appreciate his service! Compared to others in the medical industry, he is the creme de la creme!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Carmelo, TX Feb 10, 2014

My experience in MDVIP with Dr. McGowen has been very positive. This program of personalized health care has enhanced my communications with my doctor to the point where I am much more aware of what I need to do to be healthy. I am also actively involved in my care and decisions about my care with his input and advice. I also appreciate the monitoring of blood sugars, blood pressure, etc. and referral to specialists when needed. MDVIP is the only way to go. Thank you, Dr. McGowen.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Bernard A. McGowen, MD

Elsa, TX Feb 10, 2014

Dr. McGowen has been my MD since coming to Texas 19 years ago. He has always been exceptional and when he moved to MDVIP, there was no hesitation going with him. Since becoming part of the MDVIP experience my relationship with him has gotten even better because we both take more time to discuss and evaluate my health care issues. Sometimes we even laugh about things. We have a more personal connection. I know that if I need to contact him at home or after hours, he is there for me. I really value this. I feel I can enjoy traveling (since I retired), even more because no matter where I am, he is is only a phone call away. I am enjoying life. He is #1 in my book because he makes me feel like #1 whenever I call or see him regardless of where I am.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.