Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Jay Jan 28, 2015

I am writing about How a great Dr saved my life and protects me from myself at times. I met Dr S 14 yrs ago after my then picked primary by the insurance company saw a paycheck not a person in me being his patient. All the questions I raised about my health went unanswered the neurological issues brought on by GBS and Polio I ended up on the table getting a stent from a very good heart Dr. He quietly took me aside after my surgery telling me I should find a new primary, I was then introduced to Dr Joel Silverman who after meeting and answering questions about GBS and Polio from the modified live vaccine knew my issues and problems and offered to be my Dr and watch over me. For over 14 years he watched over me and my excerisize running weights and pain management his practice grew and I was watching him being squeezed for more patients to pay the bills of a bigger practice with more partners Dr S was not happy with this and wanted to go back to a smaller practice for better medicine to his patients enter MDVIP. This last April after going over my records Dr Silverman was a little upset with me for not following up on my own medical needs and the idea of MDVIP was preventive medicine so Dr silverman asked in a very strong way that I get checked out by several specialist in several fields of medicine where I had issues including a visit to a cardiac Dr I was cleared by all except the cardiac Dr who was not totaly happy with his results of a normal stress test. Dr Silverman insisted I continue with more tests, after a second nucler stress test which he again was not happy with the results. Dr Silverman insisted strongly that I needed a angoigram to get in there and look. I insisted I felt ok with no symptoms and did not want to do a angioplasty. Dr S put his foot down and insisted I do it and only because of my trust in him as a Dr and friend did I agree. The test showed bad blockages but my heart made its own bypasses that is why I had no symptoms the Dr who did the angioplasty sent me to a heart surgeon for a review That Dr said I needed a bypass operation at some point. I was told no hurry but I need to get done. I was hoping to put it off for a month or two after the holidays the heart surgeon was ok with that Dr Silverman was not and sent me for a second opinion to a heart surgeon of Dr silvermans choice. This Heart surgon agreed I needed a bypass operation, but it was a now not later in his words i was a ticking time bomb and needed to be dealt with sooner rather then later. Dr S was given that report and he felt I was in denial which looking back I was. Dr silverman sowed the seeds so every time I felt a pain reality was setting in I scarred myself Into the emergency room of a local hospital. The Dr in the emergency room said I needed to be admitted immediately. Dr Silverman was called and he took control of my care in the hospital with in a hour on that day, he knew what was wrong and the heart surgeon was called in, next day open heart triple bypass surgery. Because of Dr Silverman I am alive and here another day with another chance for my cause, Dr silverman knows my love of Dogs as an advocate for the police and military K-9s fighting for medical benefits when retired. Thanks to Dr Silverman I have a new lease on life with my service K-9 Max who I also have because of DR Silverman. Dr Silverman there is no way and not enough words to say I thank you and your caring ways A true DR and hero in my life. I also Thank God for guiding DR Silverman and the surgeon on my behalf so I may live to write this. With all my love and respect

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Robert, FL Feb 26, 2014

I have the greatest respect for Dr. Joel Silverman. He is not only a consumate professional but really cares about his patients. One day I actually ran into him at my condo building making house calls on one of his older patients. What really sold me was one night I started what seemed like uncontrollable bleeding in my throat and headed to the hospital to treat this inexplicable and concerning event. On the way, I called Joel and he properly diagnosed the problem. Based on his knowledge of me, he correctly identified a simple sinus problem and instructed me on the steps to stop the bleeding. His guidance saved me from an unnecessary night in the emergency room. Those are some of the reasons that Joel is and will remain my doctor.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Ellen, FL Feb 22, 2014

Dr Joel Silverman has been my doctor for many years and when he changed to become an MDVIP doctor I just had to continue to have him be my doctor. He is very knowledgeable as a doctor, he is very kind, caring and warm, which means he has a great bedside manner which is so important for me to have a doctor like this. I just recently had my wellness example, which was extremely thorough with tests I would not normally have if I wasn't with an MDVIP doctor. I feel I have stayed and will stay healthier with MDVIP and having Dr Joel Silverman be my doctor.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Ronald, FL Feb 20, 2014

Dear Dr. Silverman I write this short note to honor you and your entire office for providing such care to my Mom and Dad You and your team show such compassion and love towards them. The guidance and help that you provide to my Mom and Dad has given them so much more quality time to their lives , which I am indebted to you for. Your availability and accessibility 24 hours a day is incredible and comforting to me and my family. Your follow up calls, checking in when needed and even home visits are amazing. Dr. Silverman (Joel) . It is our Family Honor and privilege to have you as our Doctor Thank you from the bottom of our hearts

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Trudy A, FL Feb 7, 2014

Edmund is my husband's first name but we call him by his middle name, Barry. Barry asked me to write since I joined Dr. Silverman's new team first. It was almost six months before Barry decided it was a good idea to join me. And a good idea it was because it wasn't long after joining that my husband was diagnosed with a grade 4 mitral valve leak and had to be admitted for open heart surgery. It was Dr. Silverman who gave us both the information and advice we needed to feel confident in the choice of doctors and hospital. It was Dr. Silverman who was at the hospital every day acting as our advocate helping us both through that difficult time. After discharge he came to our home and gave us the encouragement we needed to get through the therapy. Dr. Silverman has been our primary care physician since 2001. He is our doctor but we also consider him a friend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Beatrice, FL Feb 7, 2014

He saved my life when the AFIB surgery went astray and a hole was punctured in my heart by another Doctor. He not only got me thru this near death experience, but he has continued to listen and help me thru a great deal of personal happenings. He is a great Doctor along with being a genuine nice human being. I just think the world of him and thank him for what he has done for me. He is a 5 Star Doctor.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Philip, FL Feb 6, 2014

Joel Silverman, D.O.,has been my physician for a decade or more. And he has always exhibited the highest level of professionalism and expertise; and since he became affiliated with MDVIP, he has given so much of his time to me. I've called the office on am number of occasions, and he has shown himself to be a dedicated, caring and knowledgeable professional. Always accessible to his patients, he shows empathy and skill and actually educates as he performs various procedures. I consider myself extraordinarily lucky to be one of Dr. Silverman's patients. His confident demeanor, and his patience and willingness to reassure me and let me know that he is always available is, I think, rather unique, and I thank God for him.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Ellen Jun 7, 2013

Hello everyone~I did not know what an MDVIP doctor is, until recently. My doctor is Dr Joel Silverman, he now spends more time with me when I see him in this office. Let me ask you, have you ever had a doctor visit you at your home? I have because of a health issue I was having. Has your doctor ever arranged a cooking demo so you could learn healthier ways of eating? I have. On Wednesday, June 5th doctor Joel Silverman invited his patients to attend a cooking Demo at Sur La Table in Mizner Park. I learned a lot and I watched Chef Dr Joel Silverman make yummy breakfast concoctions. How about cooking breakfast for the next morning's breakfast in a crock-pot? Including information about comparing healthy and non-healthy foods. It was a most enjoyable learning experience about eating healthier and how to lose weight. The next cooking Demo is for Lunch~I am ready. Want to be my guest and come with me next time ? I would love for you to come and meet my MDVIP doctor, everyone should have this experience with their doctor!

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Joel I. Silverman, DO, FACP

Sharon Nov 15, 2012

After a recent surgery, I developed complications. Dr. Silverman advocated for me in the medical community and helped me make educated decisions which positively impacted my recovery. I feel confident that he will be there for me, whatever medical situations arise and that I will get the very best of care despite whatever health care policies are in effect in my state or country in the future.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
No results found.