Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Michael R. Book, MD

Toni, FL Mar 17, 2014

My Husband and I are traveling around the United States in our motorhome. Dr. Book has been unbelievable in helping me when I had an ER experience in New Iberia, LA and needed a hand specialist in Santa Fe, NM. He was right there to help me in these crisis situations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Elizabeth, SC Mar 12, 2014

We have been patients of Michael Book since 1996/7. During this time Michael has treated all members of our family. His patience, gentle manner and great diagnostic ability have served us well. We are now full time residents of Kiawah Island and have the greatest confidence in our medical care:entrusted to Michael Book. In both minor and major medical need Michael's diagnosis, treatment and eventual outcome have been spectacular. Thank you Michael

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Deanna, SC Mar 9, 2014

Dr. Book helped save my father's life at the age of 93 when Dad had an infection in one of his heart valves. Father will be 100 in July. He also cares for my Mother Grace (89), and my husband William (72) and me. He is always available, even out of town. Bill had an infection this year in his jaw bone after an extraction of a wisdom tooth. Even though Dr. Book was in California for a family gathering he was totally engaged in Bill's care. We love him and are so grateful that he is our Doctor!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Cecelia, DC Feb 24, 2014

Dr. Book, when you decided to join MDVIP, I knew without the slightest doubt your program was for me. Your gentle, caring interest in my health is most sincere, You're professional, thorough, honest and those qualities keep me here. To lose the care of you, fine Doc, would spell CATASTROPHE, For you, alone, made me agree to a 2nd colonoscopy! So I thank you, Dr. Book, For giving me the very BEST HEALTH CARE IO could have!!! I have the greatest confidence in you And I'll state till I turn BLUE, I'll keep coming back to you YEAR AFTER YEAR!!!:):):) Note: This is actually meant to have been a musical video, but I am lacking in how to make it ... therefore, I am submitting it as a poem.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Joyce, SC Feb 22, 2014

Dr. Book, Thanks for your caring manner. Gerry and I have been with you for a long time and we have the utmost confidence in your assessment of our health care and medical needs. You have always directed us to good specialists and followed up to see that we were doing well. You are always generous with your time and we feel lucky to have you as our doctor.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Barbara Lynn, SC Feb 21, 2014

My experience with Dr. Book has been nothing less than OUTSTANDING. He returns phone calls, even if I am at my second residence in New Jersey, that day. No question or concern of mine is considered trivial. He makes himself readily available. Dr. Book spends TIME with me. He asks questions, so that he knows my lifestyle as well as my general health. He appears to be an excellent diagnostician. I rely on Dr. Book.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Mary, PA Feb 20, 2014

Billy and I were concerned there was something seriously wrong with the fainting and lethargy so DR BOOK made sure we went to the ER lickety split where we found out it was nothing but a broken heart! (broken heart syndrome, relatively rare)

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

William, SC Feb 20, 2014

Dr. Michael Book has been our primary care physician for over 15 years and his skills and caring are above reproach.He has our complete confidence. He cares and he cares for...a great combination!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

A J, SC Feb 20, 2014

Thanks Dr. Mike for being there for all of us. You can always count on Mike for a through and accurate exam and referral if necessary. Look forward to you being there for us for a long time.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Gary, SC Feb 13, 2014

Dr Book has been our physician for many years. He is extremely caring, patient, knowledgeable and thorough. He is exceedingly generous with his time and has always been available in times of need. I highly recommend him to everyone!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Debora, NJ Feb 12, 2014

The pressure in my ear felt as if my brain was being sucked out....that was the first symptom....the weeks and months that followed would be changing my live as I knew it... I have always been strong, healthy and active. Being at retired RN, BSN and now an owner of a garden center, farm and nursery it was hard to believe I was having a stroke....or so it was thought. I was out of town at our vacation home when the unthinkable happened. My first thought was an inner ear infection. I went to see Dr. Book and he asked me to walk in a straight line. I couldn't do it!!! He sent me straight to the ER for an MRI of my brain. From there the diagnoses had gone from shingles to the possibility to cerebral spinal fluid cancer. Dr. Book was on top of my team of neurologists, stroke neurologists, and infectious control docs and interns. He called me every day while I was in the step down ICU as they performed scans, bloodwork, spinal taps, etc. He knew every test and every result, EVERY step of the way and kept me informed of the results and decisions that would be made regarding my care, diagnosis, and prognosis. After months of PT would be walking and healing. Even after going back to NJ and all the doctors there, Dr. Book was involved with my doctors and progress. He was the anchor during the scariest part of my live! A constant reassuring voice I knew I could call or text any time if day or night and weekends too to ask a question or share my fears. He is not just a doctor, he is a caring, smart advocate and friend. It has been over a year now and there was never a diagnosis to what happened to me but I am back doing what I love. Being with my 4 grandsons. Teaching them about animals, growing vegetables and the blessings of God's love and grace. I wish everyone had a doctor like Dr. Book they could count on....he is priceless!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael R. Book, MD

Barbara, SC Feb 11, 2014

Personal is the perfect way to describe Dr. Books' practice. He has been my physician of choice for a number of years. He is very knowledgeable about my particular issues. He listens carefully, examines thoroughly, and refers you to specialists whose skills he knows personally, if need be.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.