Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

John G. Barnes, MD

Judith, VA Jan 27, 2017

When I joined the MDVIP Program in early 2013 at the milestone age of 65, I knew the time had finally arrived for me to focus on my own health. For so many years, I had cared for all other family members, but, never me. I couldnt recall back then when I had ever had a truly meaningful physical examination, much less an annual physical. After caring for an ailing mother and helping my husband recover from a heart attack, I began to realize the importance of my own health, but didnt really know what to do and how to do it. Joining Dr. John Barnes MDVIP practice has provided me with a far better understanding of a healthy approach to life. The program membership has been an extremely valuable investment. The annual physical, various diagnostic testing, and a wellness plan just for me guided by Dr. Barnes have all attributed to my overall health. And for the first time, I feel like I have a partner in my well-being. With Dr. Barnes interest and concern, I personally feel compelled to do a better job as a patient. Thats not to say that I will always select an apple over chocolate, but, as a MDVIP Program member with Dr. Barnes as partner, I will be more responsible and focused on my own health!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

William, VA Mar 25, 2016

John G. Barnes, MD Dr. Barnes continues to provide me with exceptional heart care. His interest in my overall health and thusly, any associated treatment that I may need is always a paramount concern. Dr. Barnes is knowledgeable, caring and professional. My request for appointments are handled promptly and he is always thorough. Dr. Barnes explains with me thoughts or suggestions appropiate for my care. His office staff is always willing to assist me. They are very helpful and l note this as a reflection of his hard work and dedication to us, his patients. I am looking forward to maintaining a healthy lifestyle and patient relationship with Dr. Barnes and MDVIP.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

frank, VA Feb 21, 2015

dr barnes has really helped me in my health problems. i am feeling better and able to do more thing i enjoy .

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Nancy, VA Feb 20, 2015

I have been a patient of Dr. Barnes for many years. I do not think that there is a better doctor anywhere. He really cares about his patients!! Throughout the years I have had several situations that needed immediate attention. I always got prompt care. MDVIP policies help the patient to make healthy living choices.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Anna, VA Feb 17, 2015

Dr. Barnes is very dedicated, caring and thorough. I know he is the best physician I have, and if I need him, he is there to help me. He is a good man and a great asset to the medical profession. I feel honored to have him as my doctor providing ways for me to be a healthy strong woman as I grow older.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Judith, VA Mar 15, 2014

I had a serious case of poison ivy and had been using over-the-counter topical ointments prior to calling Dr. Barnes' office for a more effective prescription. It was on a Friday and I knew I would not make it comfortably through the weekend. Dr. Barnes' office called a prescription into my drug store. After work on that Friday, I stopped to pick up the prescription only to be told by the pharmacist that they didn't have the prescription. I said I would call the doctor's office while I was standing there at the counter. The pharmacist said, Good luck with that .... it's Friday and it's after 5 p.m. .... all doctor's are on the golf course about this time. I pulled the MDVIP membership card out of my walIet and placed the call. Not only did the doctor's office answer, but Dr. Barnes answered the call himself. By this time, there was a long line of people waiting for their own prescription. Dr. Barnes quickly cleared up the confusion with the prescription, and the pharmacist, obviously impressed, announced for all to hear, I've never had a doctor answer his own phone after 5 p.m., and especially on a Friday! I spent the weekend comfortably recovering from poison ivy and grateful for my MDVIP experience!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

W. Richard, VA Mar 14, 2014

I have known this man for many years and he has been my personal physician for perhaps 30 years. During a routine physical 10 years ago he discoverd a health issue that would have taken my life. He referred me to a specialist and 10 years later I am alive and well. I owe my life to John Barnes. Need I say more.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Ray, VA Mar 14, 2014

Since joining Dr. Barnes's practice (now MDVIP) four years ago I have only been to see him a very few times (knock on wood) so I don't have much to report. But I was so impressed with him that when he joined MDVIP I of course went with him. Then two weeks after joining MDVIP I needed to talk to Dr. Barnes on a Saturday so I called him on his cell phone and in twenty minutes I had all I needed to know. Wow!! The reports and phone calls from Dr. Barnes after my annual physical were superb. Also the two specialist he referred me to have been excellent. Completely pleased with my choice of physician!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Susan, VA Mar 5, 2014

Dr. Barnes you have always been a great Doctor but since joining MDVIP we have gotten to appreciate you even more.The 1st time we really realized it was when we called for an emergency after hours and you answered the phone, and that was not the only time either. Your encouragement and discussions regarding our last third of our life have significantly changed our health and quality of life. Your staff is just as supportive as you as was demonstrated on one occasion when they watched 2 of our grandchildren so we could get bloodwork done. It is nice to see you being able to enjoy your practice more and set such a good example for us. We are so grateful that we followed you to MDVIP and look forward to the many years to come. Thank you for everything and know you are appreciated.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

William, VA Mar 5, 2014

Dr. Barnes is dedicated, knowledgeable, concerned and honest. He is always professional, he sets high standards of care for his patients, he is always available and willing to tend to my medical needs and issues. And to promptly secure any other associated services that I may need. My attitude about maintaining a more healthier lifestyle has grown because of his help. Dr. Barnes is exceptional and I am glad to be one of his care patients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

James, VA Feb 24, 2014

There are not enough words to express our being thankful for having Dr. Barnes as our primary physician for 20 plus years. He has always been there for us, no matter the problem, Adelaides breast cancer disgnosis, Jims heart,lung cancer diagnosis, sending both of us to the appropriate specialists. We firmly believe Dr. Barnes mission is to keep his patients as healthy as possible. PS. How many doctors call in the evening or week-ends to give you a diagnosis or just checking up on you. OURS DOES!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Bruce, VA Feb 24, 2014

I have had the pleasure of having Dr. Barnes as my personal doctor for almost 20 years and in that time I have always felt that he puts my well being and health first. His preventive approach to my health has put me in an excellent place as I enter the second half of my life. Thanks you Dr. Barnes for all you have done for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
No results found.