Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

John G. Barnes, MD

Nancy, VA Mar 29, 2017

Dr. Barnes is very knowledgeable, thorough, familiar with my health and medications and generous with his time and with his responses to direct contact. I have total confidence and great admiration for him and am thankful he is my primary care physician.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Teressa, VA Mar 29, 2017

Dr. Barnes is an excellent listener, very personable, and truly cares about his patients, their needs and that of their family. I would highly recommend Dr. Barnes and his EXCELLENT staff to anyone looking for a whole family doctor.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

robert, VA Mar 29, 2017

Dr.Barnes is the absolute best doctor you could ask for,his memory is very impressive and he is very thorough and always available for any concerns you have.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Sue, VA Mar 27, 2017

Thanks Dr. Barnes for everything.....but especially for sharing with so many of us the very special gifts that God has blessed you with. This thanks is also for your family that loves and supports you and is reflected in the way you care and listen to all who come to see you. Thanks also to Carolyn who is always there to greet us with a smile no matter what the reason we are there. I know that God has truly blessed with me with a wonderful doctor and friend. May God continue to hold you safe in the palm of His hand. Sincerely,

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

George, VA Mar 21, 2017

It was 1:30 am last Sunday morning when I woke to the small pimple on my chin, now not so small, causing my lower lip to swell. I decided to text my growing problem to Dr Barnes with the hope that when he got up in the would return my call. He called me back 5 minutes after I texted. He call in the prescriptions I needed to a 24 hr pharmacy. I had the drugs I needed to stop the rapidly spreading infection by 2:00 am. Dr Barnes has been my friend and my doctor for 31 years. There is a list of life's experiences, just like this one, that describe John Barne's service to his patients and community. He is truly one of Richmonds top Docs...

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Doug, VA Mar 21, 2017

When we moved back to Midlothian over 20 years ago, I was fortunate to find John Barnes for my primary care physician. Although, we were both quite a bit younger, John has remained constant over the years. He cares and listens without rushing and makes it feel as we have a patient/physician partnership. I feel blessed to have John to address my primary care.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Judith, VA Jan 27, 2017

When I joined the MDVIP Program in early 2013 at the milestone age of 65, I knew the time had finally arrived for me to focus on my own health. For so many years, I had cared for all other family members, but, never me. I couldnt recall back then when I had ever had a truly meaningful physical examination, much less an annual physical. After caring for an ailing mother and helping my husband recover from a heart attack, I began to realize the importance of my own health, but didnt really know what to do and how to do it. Joining Dr. John Barnes MDVIP practice has provided me with a far better understanding of a healthy approach to life. The program membership has been an extremely valuable investment. The annual physical, various diagnostic testing, and a wellness plan just for me guided by Dr. Barnes have all attributed to my overall health. And for the first time, I feel like I have a partner in my well-being. With Dr. Barnes interest and concern, I personally feel compelled to do a better job as a patient. Thats not to say that I will always select an apple over chocolate, but, as a MDVIP Program member with Dr. Barnes as partner, I will be more responsible and focused on my own health!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

William, VA Mar 25, 2016

John G. Barnes, MD Dr. Barnes continues to provide me with exceptional heart care. His interest in my overall health and thusly, any associated treatment that I may need is always a paramount concern. Dr. Barnes is knowledgeable, caring and professional. My request for appointments are handled promptly and he is always thorough. Dr. Barnes explains with me thoughts or suggestions appropiate for my care. His office staff is always willing to assist me. They are very helpful and l note this as a reflection of his hard work and dedication to us, his patients. I am looking forward to maintaining a healthy lifestyle and patient relationship with Dr. Barnes and MDVIP.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

frank, VA Feb 21, 2015

dr barnes has really helped me in my health problems. i am feeling better and able to do more thing i enjoy .

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Nancy, VA Feb 20, 2015

I have been a patient of Dr. Barnes for many years. I do not think that there is a better doctor anywhere. He really cares about his patients!! Throughout the years I have had several situations that needed immediate attention. I always got prompt care. MDVIP policies help the patient to make healthy living choices.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Anna, VA Feb 17, 2015

Dr. Barnes is very dedicated, caring and thorough. I know he is the best physician I have, and if I need him, he is there to help me. He is a good man and a great asset to the medical profession. I feel honored to have him as my doctor providing ways for me to be a healthy strong woman as I grow older.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
John G. Barnes, MD

Judith, VA Mar 15, 2014

I had a serious case of poison ivy and had been using over-the-counter topical ointments prior to calling Dr. Barnes' office for a more effective prescription. It was on a Friday and I knew I would not make it comfortably through the weekend. Dr. Barnes' office called a prescription into my drug store. After work on that Friday, I stopped to pick up the prescription only to be told by the pharmacist that they didn't have the prescription. I said I would call the doctor's office while I was standing there at the counter. The pharmacist said, Good luck with that .... it's Friday and it's after 5 p.m. .... all doctor's are on the golf course about this time. I pulled the MDVIP membership card out of my walIet and placed the call. Not only did the doctor's office answer, but Dr. Barnes answered the call himself. By this time, there was a long line of people waiting for their own prescription. Dr. Barnes quickly cleared up the confusion with the prescription, and the pharmacist, obviously impressed, announced for all to hear, I've never had a doctor answer his own phone after 5 p.m., and especially on a Friday! I spent the weekend comfortably recovering from poison ivy and grateful for my MDVIP experience!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
No results found.