Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Michael G. Winnie, MD

Nancy, TX Mar 29, 2015

This program is more than one could ever hope a doctor/patient experience to be. When you can classify your doctor as one of your best friends, that says it all. He has never failed to respond to a phone call or text after hours, and if you need to see him when he has no openings for the day, he will forfeit his lunch hour.Doesn't get any better than that. Our MDVIP Doctor should be rated the Best of the Best - truly a 10. Will never regret our decision to join this group.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Donal, TX Feb 13, 2015

Doctor Winnie, has provided medical care for me and my wife for 20 years. We followed Dr. Winnie to his new Medical office when he moved to MDVIP. I have had several family doctor's but none that can/would compare with Dr. Winnie.I have found that his care is always correct. .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

DeWayne, TX Feb 13, 2015

Does an excellent job of taking care of myself and my wife.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Dora, TX Mar 21, 2014

Dr. Winnie takes the time to listen to you, then recommends & explains what needs to be done. He's prompt in responding to texts & phone calls. I was a patient of Dr. Winnie prior to him becoming a member of MDVIP & he's always been kind, compassionate yet keeps a sense of humor about him. More importantly, he's very knowledgeable. I'm glad to be his patient again. His office staff & assistants are warm, friendly & very helpful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Gloria, TX Feb 27, 2014

My husband, Don, and I were some of the first fortunate patients of Dr. Winnie when he first opened his office doors in Spohn South in Corpus Christi, Tx. When Michael told me about MDVIP, I am sure I was one of the first of his patients to sign up. Dr. Winnie has been a rock to me. When my husband suffered a cerebral hemorrhage, he was the first person I called and he answered his cell phone on the second ring. I explained to him what had happened. He told me to call 911 on my cell phone and not to hang up on him as I had called him on my house phone. He calmed me and talked to me until the ambulance arrived. That gave me strength and calmed me to act responsibly and follow the ambulance to the ER. He called me back on my cell phone as I waited in the waiting room with my daughter. Don was later transferred to another hospital because they had 6 brain surgeons on staff. Don was put into a private room there. I called our priest and several of Don's close friends. Hours later, one of the brain surgeons, whom we knew socially, asked me to come to the nurse's station so he could show me X-rays. He told me they could operate and save Don, but all they could give me back from surgery would be a paralyzed vegetable.We all went into Don's room, he had his last rights and his friends said their goodbyes. Then the nurse asked me if I would like to get into Don's bed. I thanked her and was helped up into the bed. Our priest told me to talk to Don as his hearing as the last sense he would lose. I cradled Don in my arms, held him close to me and talked to him for the next 5 house before he went to Heaven. Don was 80 years old. . We had a wonderful day the day before - we had gone shopping in town, had lunch and went to get pedicures together. On our way home, he had his hemorrhage as we were coming back to our island on a one way causeway and I could not take him directly to the hospital. The quickest thing I could do was take him directly home and call Michael and 911. Since my husband's death, Dr. Winnie has been just a call away. He has come to the hospital when I needed him and stayed with me until I was released to go home. He has watched over me and seen me anytime I felt threatened about my problems, monitored my blood thickness like a hawk. I have been on Coumadin for years. He stays in close contact about me with my heart doctor, Wassim Choucair. If he were my own son, I couldn't get more attention and care I am so pleased I have had the pleasure to tell you what a fabulous Dr. you were fortunate enough to decide to join your fine organization. Most Sincerely,

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Peggy, TX Feb 25, 2014

Dr. Winnie is always available any time of the day. We have called on weekends and have always gotten a response. He has always been a great doctor even before MDVIP and his office staff are always helpful. The one thing that my husband and I have noticed is the time we get to spend in office visits with Dr. Winnie and we are really pleased with the wait time.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Patti, TX Feb 23, 2014

Let's see where do I begin. Dr. Winnie is just like part of our family to the Birnbaum family. He has been our doctor for my uncle, Walter Birnbaum, my mother-in-law, Charlotte Birnbaum and to my dear beloved Granny, Louise Pohlmeyer. With all the new health care changes happening in today's world, this could lead one to be very confused and frustrated. Never I have been more confident in MY doctor. I love, when I have on occasion, needed to speak with Dr. Winnie, after hours. I call and he answers with Well hello Mrs. Birnbaum what can I do for you today? The MDVIP experience for me is GREAT! I have type 2 diabetes and thanks to Dr. Winnie's expertise my diabetes is getting under control. Of course, Dr. Winnie gives me the credit---I call it team work!! Very limited wait time (maybe 10 minutes) before appointments. Dr. Winnie's staff is the BEST! Each of the staff take a personal interest in their patients! That personal attention is so much appreciated! When I call for an answer to a question, refill or anything else Dr. Winnie's staff has exceeded all of my expectations and more!! I guess I could go on and on but for now a big heartfelt THANK YOU Dr. Winnie and Happy National Doctor's Day!! We love you!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Arthur, TX Feb 17, 2014

I am so proud that I was referred to Dr. Winnie by my son. You need to say that Dr. Winnie was very much so instrumental in the Miracle of my still being here to talk about my illness. Dr. Winnie already suspected the worst when he saw me that Friday evening and viewed the blood report. He had a CT-Scan made but w/o contrast because my kidneys were already failing. He came back into the patient room with a very gloom look and we both knew that the information was going to be bad. He informed us at that time that according to what they could see with the CT-Scan that it looked as if I had Pancreatic Cancer or a tumor on the pancreas. He immediately had me hospitalized and connected with Dr. Ibanez and Dr. Kim. They tried unsuccessfully to clear and opening in my bile duct to the liver. On Sunday, Dec 9, 2012 I was ambulanced to San Antonio to see Dr. Patel and Dr. Ocko for a stint implant. Later I was connected to Surgeon Dr. Almeda for Liver Cancer surgery. By this time they had determined that it was not the Pancreas. They could not ever find a positive biopsy but Dr. Almeda was not happy with the looks of the Liver, so he went out on a limb and took out about 60 of the liver (almost all of the large lobe). When they sent it off to a Research Center in Pennsylvania, they bisected it and found the Cancer in the center of the liver. With the results that the doctors had and with my recovery, Dr. Almeda told me that I was a miracle. They were able to remove the cancer enclosed in the large lobe and he told me that I was Cancer-Free and that most people with the cancer and the surgery I had would already be in Hospice and that I should believe him when he says that I am Cancer-Free. I am 1-year and 1-month past the surgery and there still is no indication of Cancer. I feel so very much blessed by God and Monsignor McGowan in Corpus Christi and with the doctors in Corpus Christi and my Doctor Winnie and with the way that he was instrumental in my/his finding of the disease and the leadership in pointing me in the right direction and in all of his follow-up as well as his present and personal and professional care. He is MOST DEFINITELY the best Doctor I could ever wish for. I am always greeted kindly and as if a part of the family. He listens to exactly what I may have to say about an ailment and he explains things to me that help me to understand my ailments and medicines. He is always very receptive to whatever I may have to say or ask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Nancy, TX Feb 15, 2014

The first time I dialed the phone and made an appointment with Dr. Michael Winnie, I never dreamed in a million years, I would be e-mailing anyone a story which portrays my honest opinion of this awesome, christian, caring, individual with the greatest of doctoring skills. Both my husband and I had been with different physicians prior to them retiring, and we were left with the search of an individual to administer health care to us in our declining golden years. My husband found a physician he could take or leave and my experience lead me to just frequent minor emergency facilities, and then on to a new doctor in town. That relationship was a disaster, for lack of a better word. Dr. Winnie was a referral by a friend who had just moved into town, and she had the upmost highest regard for this man. Every praise she gave to me about him was absolutely the greatest and upon my first visit, I felt the same way. I, then in turn, convinced my husband to also switch, and we both could not be happier with our decision. It's almost like we are having coffee with our best friend who is diagnosing, listening, and caring for us with complete compassion, knowledge, and concern. Can't get any better than that. He is a 10 in both our books, and needs to be listed as one of the top ten doctors in Corpus Christi like they have in Phoenix, displaying this statement and a picture on his wall. His office personnel all fall within this category as well. It is a privilege to be cared for by this man. We hesitated to join the MDVIP program at first, but so glad our final decision was to go ahead and bite the bullet so to speak. We are in the declining years of our life and could not be happier with our care, which means so much. Kudos to Dr. Michael Winnie, his staff, and even his jokes. You have our vote always. A kind compassionate man who truly cares and makes us totally comfortable sharing any and all that we need to share. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts. The only physician who could surpass our expectations is the GREAT PHYSICIAN who awaits us in our heavenly home for which he has prepared.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

DIANIRA, TX Feb 8, 2014

Dr Winnie is amazing he has always made me feel important. He made me being diabetic so easy if it wasn't for his care I know I wouldn't be where I am now Thank you so much.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

Ethel, TX Feb 7, 2014

Our mother is 93 and Dr. Winnie's patient. She was in the hospital and then rehab because of an uti. I had trouble with the director of nurses not treating her and telling me that she would not have done what the doc. ordered. I called Dr. Winnie that night crying and ask him to please check on my mother. He was very comforting to me and assured me he would. The next morning he was at the rehab to check on her and take care of things. He has always been a very compassionate person and willing to take time with us. I only wish that myself and the rest of my family could have continued to be his patients. Due to our fairly good health, we felt that we could not benefit from the extra charge.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael G. Winnie, MD

PAUL, TX Feb 7, 2014

WHEN DR. WINNIE TOLD ME HE WAS CONVERTING TO A CONCIERGE PRACTICE ANDI iDISCOVEREDIi MIGHT WELL LOSE HIM AS MY DOCTLR IF i DID NOT JOIN, I KNEW I HAD TO JOIN. I ALREADY LIKED AND TRUSTED HIM AS MY DOCTOR AND GOOD DOCTORS ARE HARD TO FIND. .I HAVE NOT REGRETTED THE DECISION. AT 88, I HAVE MY SHARE OF MYSTERIOUS ACHES AND PAINS AND OCCASIONAL HOSPITALIZATIONS. BEING ABLE TO REACH HIM WHEN I NEED HIM IS GREAT. ENOUGH SAID!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.