Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Janet, CA Mar 9, 2016

Due to a local pharmacy filling my Rx with the incorrect medication, which I ingested, I could have become more ill and incapacitated or worse than I did, unless Dr Portnoy had not responded with immediate response to my phone call with my symptoms of passing out. He leaped into immediate investigation on the kind of med the pharmacy filled incorrectly, tried to get back to me at home, but I had passed out, contacted my husband immediately to go home and called an ambulance to my home. I was transferred to the ER, treated and survived without any side effects. Dr Portnoy had also alerted the ER before I got there, the nature if the situation. His quick detective and follow up coordination of the mentioned events, mostly like saved my life or unknown permanent side effects. I'm forever grateful to Dr Portnoy's quick response, follow up, and problem solving skills. Side note: the pharmacy responsible for the incorrect medication is currently under investigation with the Departnent of Pharmacology in Sacramento, California.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Ingrid, CA Mar 28, 2015

This May my husband will be 97 years young. Was it not for being a patient of Dr. Portnoy, I do not believe he would have reached this age. We receive excellent care and concern, I cannot imagine what our lives would have been like without this personal attention. Thank you a lot.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Shirley, CA Feb 11, 2015

My experience is quite ordinary and yet still quite satisfactory. In spite of my age I am in excellent health. Good genes, I think.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Reuben, CA Feb 25, 2014

I have been a member since 2008. The value of peace of mind of knowing that I have the uninterrupted and complete attention of one of the best-known practitioners in my geography pleases me - it is an investment that exceeds my expectations. Dr. Portnoy and staff are highly regarded by me - I am a healthcare practitioner pharmacist and I recognize compassionate care. I pray for Dr. Portnoy's well-being as his one of my most important resources for good health.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Thomas, CA Feb 13, 2014

Re: Doctor Portnoy February 9, 2014 Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to show our gratitude for the people that remain behind the scenes, yet make such an enormous difference. Its hard to imagine not having a true confidant in our lives; someone with whom we can share our most intimate secrets, embarrassing moments, frailties and triumphs big and small. Its our family physician, he makes everything all right again. Doctor Portnoy - thank you for your honesty, unassuming nature, concern for our welfare and the personal treatment you give each of us. A dedicated practitioner committed to his practice with the ability to change with the times, embracing change with insight, technology, validation and passion our very own Doctor Portnoy! Please accept this testimonial with our sincerest appreciation for a job so very well done and with our highest regards for you and your friendly, reassuring and supportive staff Lauren, Sarah and Kristen. Many thanks to you all,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Charles, CA Feb 11, 2014

We feel very fortunate to have Dr. Portnoy as our physician. He has great bedside manners and is a most dedicated doctor. We always get an answer to our concerns and my husband credits Dr. Portnoy with getting him to the ripe age of 95. Thank you for always being there for us, we hope for continued good health for all of us.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

ronald, CA Feb 9, 2014

i particularly like having his cell phone number and I have called him directly on it dozens of time in the last year. I did not like being routed through office personnel and answering services and answering machines by other physicians I have engaged in the past.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Mike, CA Feb 8, 2014

Doctor Ed: He is through and takes time during my visit to do annual physical. If there is anything new regards preventive tests he makes that info available. I feel thoroughly taken care of.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Edward B. Portnoy, MD

Neal, CA Feb 6, 2014

I recently joined MDVIP and have found it to be well worth the expense. Dr. Portnoy and his staff are incredibly helpful and the personal service I receive is far beyond that which my previous doctor was providing. Dr. Portnoy is not only an excellent physician, he is also a caring individual who has not forgotten what it means to be a doctor. I always feel like he really listens to me and that he devotes whatever time is needed to deal with my medical issues. My wife has been seeing Dr. Portnoy for many years and has always been extremely pleased with him. I rate Dr. Portnoy, his staff and MDVIP a solid 5 stars across the board.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
No results found.