Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Michael J. Gunter, MD

Phyllis, NV Feb 12, 2015

I feel that the Doctor is very thorough, concerned and ready, willing, and able to plan the appropriate program for me. I do not hesitate to make queries on a want- to- know basis.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Charles and Christina, NV Feb 15, 2014

January 2000 I accompanied my husband to visit his new GP in Las Vegas to renew his prescriptions. We moved here a few weeks prior from California. Each of us had our annual physicals before we left and felt that our health was in good shape for our ages, early and late 50's. Low and behold, after checking out my husband Dr Gunter asked if he could listen to my heart. I was not expecting the news that was to follow. Dr Gunter left the room and then re appeared with a wheel chair and stated quite firmly that I was to go immediately to Summerlin Hospital for tests on my heart. I couldn't believe what I was hearing and after a series of heart tests the results and prognosis were a testament to Dr Gunter's training and good logic. I needed a new Mitral Valve asap. I only thought I had some allergies and trouble breathing deeply but blamed that on the dry desert air. My follow ups are always positive, I'm alive. Thank you Dr Gunter.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Sharon, NV Feb 13, 2014

Thank you Dr Gunter for being there for me. I have type 2 Diabetes, Dystonia & drug allergies. He knows that if he has to give me a new drug that I will look it up and he is fine with that. When I had to go to the hospital for emergency gall bladder surgery, he was there making sure I got through it OK I know that if I need help he will be there for me as he was when my husband died from a brain tumor. Again, thank you Dr Gunter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

senn, NV Feb 13, 2014

Dr Gunter is not just my primary care physician, he is an avid protector of my health. I trust him with my life. He cares. I'm lucky to call him my doctor.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Patrick, NV Feb 12, 2014

Dr. Gunter (Mike) is truly amazing. You never wait in a waiting room, yet he takes the time to personalize every visit. I have the peace of mind of knowing that my calls will get returned promptly, and he knows my personal situation. He takes holistic approach and really does treat his patients as friends. I feel blessed to have Mike on my team.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

John, NV Feb 10, 2014

I am a health conscious 71 year old and have been blessed with no health problems-yet! Dr Gunter's routine physical and labs have been thorough and give me peace of mind that I am doing everything I can do to stay healthy. In addition he has referred me to a cardiologist for testing to make sure that my heart was in good shape as I have had close relatives that had heart issues etc. While Mike is not a close friend he is someone I personally like and feel at ease talking to about pretty much anything. It's all good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Suzette, NV Feb 10, 2014

I am new to Dr. Gunter's practice, but already I feel right at home. The most difficult things I have to adjust to is the relaxed pace and the one hour he usually spends with me going over my medical issues!! Truly wonderful problems to have!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Tess, NV Feb 7, 2014

My life circle of family and friends know how I feel about Dr. Gunter and his amazing staff I never miss an opportunity to share my many positive health experiences. Being able to contact Dr. Gunter on his cell phone (which he actually answers) is like having a doctor in the family. The comfort and security it provides is inestimable. The staff of Cindy, T and April are phenomenal in every way. Cindys vast experience coupled with her compassion has provided innumerable positive health experiences for my family and me. T is also very experienced and makes me laugh every time she treats mebest injection giver on planet Earth! Ts skill with a hypodermic needle got me through a lifelong fear of shots (for which I am very grateful). April, at the front desk, is expert at juggling multiple tasks and responding to requests. When I go into the office, I know exactly what to expect at each visit: top-notch treatment. My most life-changing experience with Dr. Gunter was in May of 2013 during my annual physical. To say I had been neglecting my physical well-being would be an understatement. My busy schedule did not include daily exercise, monitoring my diet or keeping track of my nutritional needs. Bottom line, I had put my health on autopilot and I was in the rear of the plane relaxing with a glass of wine. At that visit, even before Dr. Gunter began reading my lab results, I knew there were problems from the disappointed look on his face. My lab results and other health indicators were much worse than I expected. I was shocked and sickened, as I knew that these poor results were my own fault. At the end of the visit, Dr. Gunter gave me the same advice I had been hearing (but ignoring) for the past few years: eat a healthy diet, exercise every day and take your medicine as prescribed. He also gave me a reading list of health books. As I walked out of his office, I resolved to make my health a priority. I bought a new pair of sport shoes on the way home. Once home, I spent several days researching my nutritional needs and diet on the internet, using the MDVIP site as a primary resource. I began walking that day and promised that I would walk every single day going forward. I also began tracking my exercise in order to monitor progress. I started taking supplemental vitamins and made a vow that my cholesterol medication would be taken every day, NO excuses. Using a pedometer allowed me to begin tracking my daily steps with a goal of walking 10,000 steps a day. Five years ago, Dr. Gunter had encouraged me to get a personal trainer so I already had that resource available. I told my trainer about my physical results and, together, we changed my exercise routine to focus on weight bearing exercises, balance and building core strength. Im happy to report that the actions I have taken have allowed my LDL cholesterol to plummet 47 points along with a significant reduction in my triglycerides. I am still working on reducing my blood sugar number. I average over 8,000 steps a day and walk most days of the week. Im grateful Dr. Gunter expressed his disappointment that day. His follow on coaching and my results have been instrumental in keeping me motivated to make my health a priority. Oh, and that glass of wine mentioned earlier? Somehow, alcohol consumption is not nearly as enticing. I have cut back to about a glass a week.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

krista, NV Feb 7, 2014

Dr. Gunter and his team do an excellent job taking care of me and my family. It is nice to know that someone who knows you and your health history has your back and will support you even during a weekend emergency. I expect a lot from my care provider and Dr. Gunter and his team deliver. They know me by name and they take care of me when I have a need - and with a chronic illness like diabetes that tends to be often :) And, when I need a specialist, the referrals I get from Dr. Gunter are also outstanding. I am always recommending MDVIP to others based on my fabulous experience with my doctor and the program.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Allan, NV Feb 7, 2014

Dr. Gunter is by far the best doctor I have ever been to. He listens, he explains and is totally focused on helping his patients maintain or restore good health. It is great to have a doctor you can have complete confidence in.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Donald, NV Feb 6, 2014

Dr. Gunter is always been available to support my wife's and my medical needs whether they be routine or emergency. He fully responds to every situation, takes the time to answer every question thoroughly and provides insights and excellent treatment where appropriate. In addition, he is proactive by conducting appropriate tests and evaluations and then prescribing proper treatment. We could not ask for a better Doctor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Michael J. Gunter, MD

Lynn, NV Feb 6, 2014

My husband had a part of his small intestine curled, and he was in terrible pain. When we called the answering service, they called him. Instead of calling the covering doctor, he insisted on taking care of my husband himself. He is a caring and charismatic man, one who deserves respect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
No results found.