Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Judi, PA Mar 28, 2017

It's very comforting being a part of MDVIP. Dr. Barbara Shonberg is definitely a warm caring and compassionate physician and is always there when we need her care. It makes us feel secure knowing that we are able to contact our doctor, twenty- four seven in the event of an emergency and our call goes directly to her. Thank you Dr. Shonberg for being there for us, we are so lucky having you as our doctor!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Michael, PA Mar 26, 2017

I dare say It is a fact I would not be walking this earth today in the good form I am if it had not been for the intervention, persistence, advocacy, and advocacy exhibited on my behalf by my MDVIP physician

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Daniel, PA Mar 23, 2017

Dr. Shonberg is simply the best doctor I ever had. She is always responsive, caring, and thorough. I have on a couple of occasions called her after hours on matters of real urgency to me and she returned my calls promptly and helped me deal with my issue in a calm and patient manner. She has an engaging personality which always makes the doctor/patient relationship comfortable. Her staff is efficient, upbeat and personable. I am happy to have them all as my health care providers. Thank you, Dan Shaw

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Viola, PA Mar 10, 2016

Dr. Shonberg was my physician before she participated in the MDVIP program. I was determined to remain in her care when she made the transition and have never regretted my decision. She is an excellent physician who demonstrates caring for the whole individual__physical, mental and emotional. This( in addition to her dry sense of humor)creates a relaxed, caring atmosphere during office visits.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Joan, PA Jun 12, 2014

I thank God for Dr. Barbara Shonberg. She is everything I would value in a Doctor. She is gifted with listening skills and gives me all the time I need to express my needs both physical and emotionally. I could tell her anything. My twin brother has cancer and I was able to get the support I needed when sharing my concerns with her. I trust her judgments, suggestions and cares. She never makes me feel like I am bothering her when I call. I feel blessed to have such a caring Doctor.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Leah, PA Feb 24, 2014

My MDVIP story may be a little different from other people. I was with Dr. Barbara H. Shonberg, Internal Medicine, for many years before she became a MDVIP affiliated doctor. During those years, I was quite frustrated when I would call for an appointment to see her and I couldnt. I usually ended up with another doctor in the practice instead of her. Then, in May of 2007, my husband and I attended a meeting at a local hotel to find out about the MDVIP Program of Personalized Health Care. I debated with him about whether or not to stay with her, as she transitioned to having a MDVIP-affiliated practice. We talked about the added expense and decided that we could afford it. My husband wanted to stay with his own doctor, who was in a different traditional-based practice. So, the decision was made for me to continue to be one of Dr. Barbara Shonbergs patients in her new practice. And I thank God that I did! On July 10, 2007, she opened her new MDVIP practice with her partner, Dr. Ronald Goldstein. 4 months later, my husband was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Because of her affiliation with MDVIP, she was instantly accessible to me, at a time in my life when I really needed her compassion and expertise the most. During his 31 day ordeal in the medical maze of hospitalizations and surgical procedures, I was trying to continue to work. After 10 days and three trips to the hospital by ambulance, in the early morning hours, I stopped working and stayed by his hospital bedside. I was traumatized by the intensity of his hospitalizations and his constantly shifting medical condition, as well as, the looming uncertainty of the remaining time that he had left to live; which the doctors estimated at 2 days, 2 weeks or 2 years! It turned out that he only had 2 more weeks to live. After his death, I was grieving very heavily. One day, my sister, Anne, who was staying with me, took me to Dr. Shonbergs office because she thought that I was having a heart attack. I was still dressed in my pajamas for over 30 hours because I didnt even have the energy to change into regular clothes. Dr. Shonberg gave me an EKG in the office and never even mentioned anything about my pajamas! My heart was fine, but, I was having panic attacks. She prescribed anti-anxiety medications for me. Since I was unable to work after his burial, Dr. Shonberg wrote to my employer to request that I be allowed to stay home for the next two months. She wrote prescriptions for anti-depressants for me. She recommended literature about bereavement for me to read. We were able to talk about my feelings and experiences as a widow without the time restraints of a traditional practice; where if you are lucky you get a 15 minute time slot. She was addressing both my mind and my bodys health issues. I felt like she really cared about me as her patient and as a person. She understood how this stressful experience had affected my overall health and well being. Now, it has been six years since his death and I am engaged to be married to a wonderful man. I retired from being a special education teacher. I am enjoying my new life with Henry, my new love. And Dr. Barbara Shonberg has been with me on every step of my journey to this new chapter in my life. I thank God for Dr. Barbara H. Shonberg and MDVIP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Nancy, PA Feb 24, 2014

Dr Shonberg goes above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to the personal and professional care she has shown me as a patient. During a recent hospital stay she came to see me at 10pm and brought me a book to help me pass the time. During another hospital experience not only was she there as I awakened from surgery, she made sure she came to see me everyday of my hospital stay. She is available 24/7- just a phone call away. I don't know what I would do without her.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Deborah, PA Feb 23, 2014

Dr. Shonberg was there for us during an extreme emergency. She spoke with EMS and arranged for transport to our hospital, rather than the out of state hospital nearest to the emergency. Not only was this a Sunday, it was a Holiday. Dr. Shonberg met us at the hospital, and made a tremendous difference in the care we received--simply by being there on this Holiday emergency. She did a tremendous job, with caring efficiency, and met difficult issues directly. She is one-of-a-kind, an excellent, knowledgeable physician with a caring and real personality. She is thorough and giving and wise. I respect and appreciate her enormously.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Patricia and Delbert, NJ Feb 21, 2014

MDVIP means Dr. Shonberg is always there for us. We travel a great deal and have called Dr. Shonberg from Cambodia, Tanzania, Spain (no one spoke english in the small hospital I was in and Dr. Shonberg called a colleague to translate for her) Florida, and other places we have visited. She answers our calls immediately and monitors our situations. Needless to say when we are in the U.S. she takes excellent care of us.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Howard, PA Feb 20, 2014

My wife Carol lost a three year struggle with breast cancer last June. Of course she saw medical, surgical, and radiation oncologists, but throughout the entire course of her illness, it was Dr Shonberg who was her doctor as well as her trusted friend. It was Dr Shonberg who always responded to frantic weekend cellphone calls, and who stayed late at her office more than once. Finally, it was Dr Shonberg who arranged Carol's hospice admission in less than a day, and who called me with news of her condition each of the four days she was there. I will never forget her kindness, her warmth, and her professional skill.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Alan, PA Feb 18, 2014

Dr. Shonberg is caring, thorough, and knowledgeable. She is a good listener and has a positive and proactive approach. I am very happy that she is my doctor.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Barbara H. Shonberg, MD

Patricia, PA Feb 18, 2014

I appreciate Dr Shonberg's patience when we discuss the treatment of various medical problems. She always gives me her full attention & the time needed to explain my feelings...

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.