Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

F. Strait Fairey, MD

MaryAnn, SC Mar 15, 2016

Dr Fairey was also Mom and Dad's doctor. When Dad was stricken by Alzheimer's Disease, Strait is the one we turned to when we needed help convincing Dad it was time to stop driving. Later when it came time for Dad to leave home to go into a Memory Care unit, Strait helped get Dad to go. After he'd been in Memory Care for over a year, he suddenly started having trouble holding his head straight, walking, holding a glass, and feeding himself. Dr Fairey ran tests and sent him to specialists, who also ran tests. During this period of time I took Mom one day to Strait, and he commented, Last night I woke up in the middle of the night, wondering if I've missed something with Vink. That statement really touched my heart! It turned out that Dad had Myasthenia Gravis, so he needed to be moved to a skilled nursing facility. Strait is an excellent diagnostician, a wise and well-read physician, a gentle man who goes the extra distance for his patients. He has given me his cell number and the number at his vacation home. I may have been the first of his patients to send him a text! If I email him he emails back. He personally calls me with test results. He came to the visitations for both of my parents, which meant a lot to my siblings and to me. He'd also come to their 65th wedding anniversary celebration not too many years before. Dr Fairey has been our family physician since when my children were little. To this day, they both love him. They no longer live here, but my husband and I are his patients. A year ago we both underwent Bariatric surgery. Dr Fairey and my husband's cardiologist both had recommended it for him. I also qualified and decided to have it as well. Dr Fairey has been very supportive, and extremely excited about Sam's loss of over 110 pounds and mine of 55! He cheers us on. My sister and her husband also go to Dr Fairey. Honestly, all love him. He's more than our doctor. He's our friend.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Elizabeth Page, SC Feb 6, 2015

When I asked to see Dr. Fairey due to a problem with my (L) shoulder, I saw him the next a.m. Within 5 min, he suspected a torn rotator cuff. X-rays & an MRI were done in one week with a call from him to refer me to an orthopedic surgeon. He recommended Dr. John Graham, got an appointment & opted for surgical repair. Dr. Graham scheduled it 5 days later, had 6 mos. physical therapy & now teaching swim lessons part time! Thank you Dr. Fairey & Dr. Graham!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Benjamin, NC Feb 6, 2015

Dr. Fairy found hematuria at my annual exam and referred me to the right people who subsequently found that I had carcinoma in situ of the bladder. My Urologist treated me and two subsequent follow up biopsies have found that my tissue is now clear, My life has been saved again. I have also survived an AAA! I have moved recently to Wilmington, NC and have a local physician who has told me that he is investigating MDVIP. I still see Dr. Fairy as my primary care physician!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Kirk, SC Nov 10, 2014

At age 67, I can say unequivocally that Dr. Fairey is the best doctor who has ever treated me, and that includes my dentists, eye doctors and all the others! He tries (and succeeds) in developing an easy going, one-on-one, highly professional personal relationship with his patients. This is important to me because, when it comes time to visit the doctor, I am the world's worst coward. I will always remember the day I saw Dr. Fairey in his office after I fell and hurt my shoulder (while jogging, not, despite what my friends thought, when I fell off a bar stool). Dr. Fairey listened and carefully observed as I explained that becaus of the injured shoulder, I could not swing a golf club properly. I then demonstrated to Dr. Fairey how my left arm simply could not move properly enough to play golf. Dr. Fairey then provided excellent advice, the kind of advice you would expect from one of the best doctors in the country. He suggested that I stand closer to the ball, keep my weight on my left foot, swing hard, and then pray. Imagine my delight when Dr. Fairey (or is it Dr. Fairway) charged me the regular rate for an office visit but only half-price for a golf lesson. Just kidding, just kidding! Congratulations, Dr. Fairey, on the nice recognition, as one of the country's best doctors. I have know that for more than 20 years now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

bartley, SC Oct 9, 2014

Always available. Same day apt if nec. Great staff. knowledgable and well respected in the community.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Sophia, SC Oct 8, 2014

About 40 years ago I was suffering from depression and had no clue what was wrong with me. I remember like it was yesterday. The first few visits all I did was cry and talk to young Dr. Fairey. I have always told my family and friends he saved my life. His diagnosis and treatment over all these years have always been correct. He is a wonderful doctor.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Susan, SC Feb 23, 2014

Dear Dr. Fairey, When I first moved to Charleston and was seeking a family practice physician, I asked my neighbor for recommendations; at the time she was a nurse ombudsperson for patients at Roper Hospital and I figured she would know who was good. She didnt miss a beat, immediately recommending Dr. Strait Fairey as a really good doctor, capable of much but also one who didnt hesitate to refer when necessary, all coupled with superb bedside manner and the respect of his colleagues. She was right on target! Your proactive efforts in screening and treatment, along with good genes, have gotten me to this point in reasonably good health. Now, if I can overcome the activity hurdle MD-VIP has been a plus. Im certainly spoiled by the convenience. More importantly, Ive appreciated being the beneficiary of you practicing medicine the way youve always wanted or would be if not for the bureaucracy and headaches of insurance. The knowledge, concern, thoroughness and ability to listen have always been there. For example, no single appointment was more valuable than one when you advised me in depth how to deal with my mothers health. MD-VIP provides the opportunity to have the extra time to go over test results, to share all of the information, to explain something complicated, and to keep up with advances. At the same time, the old-fashioned skills and experience have proven just as valuable (e.g. your conviction that I had a fifth metatarsal stress fracture when no instrument was showing it). All of that is why, when I write a letter of reference, students have a high standard to meet when I consider if they have the potential to become an all-around physician. Thanks for being my Partner in Health for 34 years!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Eva, SC Feb 23, 2014

The best doctor ever for the last 37 years and has always been there for me. I don't know what I would have done without him.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Henry, SC Feb 21, 2014

A true friend for over 30 years. Eager to listen and allows you to help make decisions about your health. Being a part of the MDVIP team has not changed his concerns about his patients.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

H Steve, SC Feb 12, 2014

Strait, On my last visit.....I weighed in over 200. I am in the process of trimming down to 180.....drinking a little less red wine and lots of exercise See you in April for my annual Steve

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Justina, SC Feb 11, 2014

Soon after a moved to the LowCountry of South Carolina, I faced a bout with Lupus. I could not find a doctor to see me. A friend connected me to Strait Fairey and I am forever grateful for that introduction. In his usual caring, kind spirit, he agreed to see me immediately and spent much time working with me (even on our first meeting) to make sure I was taken care of. Throughout the past 12 years, he continued to treat me in the same way. With attention, experience, and intuition; he deals with what is often a difficult diagnosis and treatment, never giving up on me -- or my Lupus related challenges. He creates great teams of expert doctors to work together and acts as the team leader to make sure I have the best care possible. I feel blessed to have Strait as my principal health care provider. He is the best doctor, caring and using his knowledge and experience in a genuine way. Thank you, Strait, for continuing to make sure I am as healthy as possible - and even sharing that care to my family!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
F. Strait Fairey, MD

Nancy, SC Feb 10, 2014

I have known Dr. Fairey since my twenties. I am now 64! He has saved my life at least 3 times with his diagnostic skills! I am so grateful for him to be my doctor. He is a hard working man, but always takes time to talk to me. I really could not be more pleased that he went with MDVIP. He gives excellent care to my health and knows my health history. He is a talented man!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.