Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Sandra Richard, DC Feb 22, 2014

In honor of National Doctors' Day, MDVIP has given your patients the opportunity to let you know how much you mean to us and how much we appreciate you. As you probably know after our long association, we appreciate you very much. You have always been there for Dick and me and for Mom. I remember one of the last times Mom was in the hospital and Dick, my sister Rita, and I were on tenterhooks waiting for the next thing to happen to her. Then you strode down the hall, and we breathed a collective sigh of relief knowing that Mom would receive the best care possible. I remember vividly the day almost 24 years ago when you called me to say how sorry you were that I had cancer. When I said my needle biopsy was negative, your response was, Really? You then proceeded to help me get an appointment with a surgeon for the next day, a Friday. That Monday I had a lumpectomy followed by a lymph node dissection a few days later (after the cancer was proved) and six weeks of radiation. Had it not been for you I would not have had surgery, and who knows how far along the cancer would have been had it gone unchecked for another year. Thank you for caring enough to call. And what would we have done when Dick had his bypass surgery? You recommended the doctors, and we knew you were watching over Dick's progress every step of the way. Your oversight made so much difference to us. And when your name is mentioned, nurses eyes light up and we truly believe that everyone tries harder to be better. Even just the day-to-day things that cause us to feel like we might need medical attention are totally cared about by you. I remember going in to see you a few years after my mother's death. I was in depression. You are so much a part of our family that you knew we were a few days from the anniversary of her death. You explained it to me, and I felt better. You have kept us healthy and sane ever since you started your practice. We always feel you know who we are and care about how we are. We're not just names in a file to you. For this we thank you. Congratulations and best wishes as well all celebrate you on National Doctors' Day.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Josh and Norma, MD Feb 21, 2014

Josh and I moved to Maryland about 4 years ago. We feel fortunate that we were referred to Dr. Mizus. He is very caring and knowledgable and takes time to answer questions and gives us complete explanations. A few months ago, when an X-ray revealed an area of comcern, he quickly arranged a follow-up study, and advised us on how to proceed. We value the peace of mind we enjoy knowing that Dr. Mizus is always within easy reach to help heal us and advise us.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Lee and Carolyn, MD Feb 21, 2014

We chose Dr. Mizus years ago because we knew he was an outstanding doctor and we wanted to keep him. Since MDVIP, he has helped us in many ways --always answering his cellphone call immediately with good advice and solutions to the problem. We saved a cancellation fee from a cruise line and were able to make the trip the next day because he knew what to do and prescribe. He has also helped us with other medical problems that make life easier. He is kind, competent and thorough as well as intelligent. And we appreciate the many tests through MDVIP and him.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Henri, MD Feb 13, 2014

I've enjoyed seeing Dr. Mizus because he takes the time to discuss technical issues with me, including anatomy, physiology, etc. He is relatively conservative, and has made me avoid a number of snake oil products which I have come across.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

George John, MD Feb 7, 2014

In the late 60s I arrived at NIH to start a successful career and I asked my colleagues for an outstanding physician and they suggested Dr Fred Gill who was indeed outstanding. At one point I developed a lung problem that he could not diagnose so he sent me to see Dr. Irving Mizus who figured it out. I was most impressed. Shortly thereafter Dr.Gill decided to quit private practice and join NIH. I needed to select a new physician, the decision was not difficult I was most impressed with De.Mizus and I became one of his patients. Ever since I continue to be impressed with his knowledge and his manner His diagnostic abilities remain keen and when necessary recommends the best specialists. He spends all the time I need when I go to him with a problem and explains it all clearly. When he joined MDVIP I was upset since I do not support such practices but what choice did I have. With my background in medical research, I knew I should seek the best and who better than Irving Mizus so I reluctantly joined MDVIP because I had to stick with who I believed to be the best.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Marti, MD Feb 6, 2014

About 10 years ago, I found myself so exhausted by 2 pm that I had to close my office door and lay down on the floor. I couldn't understand why this was happening to me, and I was very concerned. I went to one doctor and explained my symptoms. She said my problem was nutritional and recommended I see a registered dietician. Before I made that appointment, I mentioned my symptoms to Dr. Mizus. He said I might have sleep apnea, which I never heard of. I was tested and sure enough I did have sleep apnea. After being fitted with a mask, I finally got the deep sleep I had been lacking. I never had to lay down again in the middle of the day. When it comes to diagnosing my health issues, Dr. Mizus has always been remarkable, even over the phone when I've been too sick to get out of bed and come to the office. In addition to being smart, he is also very caring and compassionate. He never criticizes me if I don't loose the weight I should or slack off on my exercise regime. He really is the best physician I've ever known.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Dorothy, MD Feb 6, 2014

Dr Mizus is always available by phone when I have a health issue. He is always very good in diagnosing my health issues. I have been his patient for many years and I am very satisfied.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Kasra, MD Feb 6, 2014

Dr. Mizus is the greatest doctor ever. He has taken care of me for well over 20 years.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Irving Mizus, MD, FCCP

Carmen Jan 17, 2012

Dr. Mizus listens to me.. I see him every three months and at that meeting I have a list of questions that he reviews and discusses with me.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
No results found.