Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Robert E. Songy, MD

Charles Dec 8, 2016

As we age and things happen unexpectanty it is so great to have Dr. Songy a telephone away. When I was having chest pains, my wife called Dr. Songy and was told to get to the hospital immediately. I wa fortunate it was a mild one, and with the continued care I am doing well. My son is happy that we joined the MD/VIP program, it gives him peace of mind.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Christine, LA Feb 24, 2015

He has always been there for me with the correct answers to my health concerns.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Ruth, LA Feb 23, 2015

Thank you for your knowledge which keeps me well.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Shanelle, LA Feb 20, 2015

I was feeling very poorly. This feeling occurred at a time when I had not re-entered the MDVIP program. I had tried talking with several other doctors who care for me, but I did not feel any better. I called Dr. Songy to get the name of another primary care physician. I felt he would select someone who takes premium interest in his/her patients, as he does. But, he told me to come in right at that time. We talked about my poor feeling, lackluster, dizzy, nauseous, headachy, high blood sugar, no desire to eat. He sat with me and visited the various sites until he came to the name of the illness I was experiencing. It is relapsing polycondritis. I got a prescription for it; took it for two weeks. Now feeling 100 better. After that, I rejoined MDVIP. I enjoy working with Dr. Songy, but I do not really feel how MDVIP is serving me for the amount that I have to pay. Dr. Songy is the best.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

SAM, LA Feb 28, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr. Robert Songy since 1982. I had a scare at 52 years old with severe chest pains. I am not the type to rush to a doctor and didn't have a primary care physician. A friend recommended Dr. Songy. He told me to come right in to his office that day and shockingly he said I had a massive heart attack and placed me East Jefferson Hospital immediately. I had a 4 bypass heart surgery. His immediate diagnosis saved my life. There have been many times in the last 32 years that he has help treat my health issues and has made important diagnoses on several occasions. I had another 4 bypass heart operation in 1997 and Dr. Songy constantly checked on my progress and made sure I followed up with all my doctors. In 2012, I had a bad fall and tore several quad tendons in my knees. Dr. Songy came to check on me after my first knee was operated on and he discovered there was something definitely wrong with my other knee. Thanks to his thoroughness, I was rechecked by my surgeon and had the same tendon repairs done to my other knee immediately.I have a long list of medical issues; heart condition, gout, colon issues, prostate problems, skin cancer,knee and foot injuries, etc and Dr. Songy always treats me or recommends a good fellow doctor to see. He has checked on me after hours many times in my hospital stays and has always been caring and a friend. I am almost 83 years old and attribute my long life to Dr. Songy's great care and concern for many years. Thank You Dr. Songy for always being there for me and my crazy list of medical conditions and injuries! I know I can call him anytime when I have health concerns and I feel lucky to have him as my primary doctor.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Shanelle, LA Feb 24, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr. Songy for approximately five (5) years. I appreciate the dedicated professional service I receive from working with him. I am able to call him at any time when I feel very ill. He sees his patients the day of the call. One of my experiences ended with me going to the hospital immediately. I first started going to Dr. Songy because I was feeling really weak with chest pains and heavy breathing. I was taking, along with other blood pressure medication, a blood pressure medication which is ineffective and harmful to African-Americans. Three other doctors mentioned that it was not appropriate for me, but no one change the medication. Dr. Songy did immediately. Recently I have been suffering with a cold, along with strep throat and sinusitis. I am allergic to several antibiotics. Dr. Songy continued working with me until he came up with something that resolved my problem. He understood the fact that I needed to be in the best shape possible to babysit my granddaughter (7 months old). I suffered with that discomfort for approximately three (3) weeks. I am thankful for Dr. Songy's dedicated attention. I feel comfortable with office visits. He answers all of my questions and concerns and determines how they interrelate. He asks about my family at every office visit, especially my granddaughter, Zoe. We also have conversations that are relaxing. I wish I could have my husband to be one of Dr. Songy's patients, but the additional fee is a bit costly.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Marlon, LA Feb 19, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr. Songy for over 20 years, in July of 2012, I had some strange symptoms and testing that wasn't adding up. With Dr. Songy's excellent diagnostic skills, he sent me for more testing and felt there was more. Thank goodness for his determination and knowledge.....I had a Left Atrial Myxoma or in laymen's terms a tumor in my heart. After surgery I found out that it was the size of three golf balls. He saved my life! The photo that is included is a trip with my family to Alaska, we took a helicopter to walk on the Taku Glacier outside of Juneau. Had it not been for excellent care and follow up, this trip would not have been possible! Life is good! Our son was ill away from home at college and he was hospitalized. They were unable to find why he was not improving and we brought him home. Dr. Songy saw him and did testing, it turned out that he had pericarditis. Again, Dr. Songy's excellent diagnostic skills made a difference. He began to improve with the proper medications and care. Not only is Dr. Songy an excellent diagnostician, he is a down to earth, friendly and easy going guy. He puts you at ease during office visits and phone calls. When he decided to go with the MDVIP program, we knew there was no question as to whether we'd join. My wife and I have not regretted the decision!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Israel and Florence, LA Feb 18, 2014

I was experiencing increasing problems due to congestive heart failure. After being hospitalized for the third time in a single month, Dr. Songy presented my wife and me with a new option that my cardiologist had not. It was an innovative trial for transfemoral aortic valve replacement that was being done at another hospital. Although my cardiologist did not think I was a good candidate for the procedure, Dr. Songy was not deterred and took charge of preparing my medical file and securing the approval of several of my other doctors and a cardiology second opinion. He initially contacted the interventional cardiology department at the other hospital and they in turn scheduled appointments with me. After a series of tests and an angiogram, I was accepted for the next TAVR trial. Two stents were inserted during the angiogram and Dr. Songy has overseen my recovery as we await the procedure. Day or night I have been able to call him and his response has been timely, personal and caring. Dr. Songy has kept abreast of my progress and continues communication with Dr. Ramey on test results, concerns and status in this process. After being advised that I would probably only survive a month to a year due to my deteriorating medical condition, I, and my wife will be forever grateful to Dr. Songy for his care and knowledge in presenting this alternative for prolonging my life. Currently I am feeling great, sleeping and breathing normally, and looking forward to increased health after the next procedure. I am confident in the care provided by Dr. Songy. He has truly made a positive difference in my life. Thanks, Doc!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

James, LA Feb 18, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr. Songy since 2005. I was not always a big fan of visiting with my doctor until I met Dr. Songy. While he is an outstanding doctor, he is one fine human being. I really enjoy my visits with him. He has way of making you feel very comfortable no matter what the circumstances. Seeing him in his office is like visiting with an old friend. He is the primary reason I joined MDVIP. Dr. Songy, thanks for all you do for me and my family.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Rose Leona, LA Feb 16, 2014

Between fun and work, I am glad you found the time to take some pleasure in life. I know last year the way you were working with so many patients that I was going to be forced to find another Doctor. I didn't want another Doctor but my time and pleasure was also important. When you came up with MDVIP I was one of the first to join. Last December 2013 I had the honor of seeing you twice in one week (total time 1 hour) and was on my way on a trip of 2 weeks knowing my Doctor gave me what I needed to survive and get well. I am so glad you decided to change your practice to where we all have time to sit and smell the roses.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Ann, LA Feb 8, 2014

My husband and I have been going to Dr. Robert Songy for almost 24 years. He has always been the most caring doctor I have ever gone to. He saved my life twice by making sure I was in the hospital, under his care, when I contacted Sepsis and another time with Staph.. We have always been able to get in to see him and had his cell phone if we needed it, long before MDVIP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Robert E. Songy, MD

Ruth, LA Feb 6, 2014

Dr. Songy is a super diagnostician and is always easy to talk to.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
No results found.