Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Anna R. Niesen, MD

Wayne, MO Feb 21, 2015

Have been going to Dr. Niesen for over 30 years. She is an outstanding doctor who really cares about her patients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

sandra, MO Feb 20, 2015

dr. niesen has been my physician for over 20 years. she has always been there for my whenever i needed her, if not for her, i may not be here now.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Janet, MO Feb 26, 2014

On April 14, 1989, I gave birth to my second son at St. Mary's Hospital in St. Louis. Shortly after his birth, I began experiencing acute gastrointestinal distress: nausea, cramps, diarrhea. I could not leave the bathroom long enough even to take care of my newborn. I called my OB and asked for an immediate referral. He got me in to see Dr. Niesen. I think it was the same day. I should back-track a little to say that prior to moving to St. Louis, my family and I lived in Scottsdale, AZ. I had experienced similar symptoms while there, and saw at least four doctors with my complaints. None of them correctly diagnosed my problem. One even told me that it was all in my head and to go home and relax. Another told me, without making any, what he called invasive tests, that I probably had giardia, and gave me a Flagyl drug to treat it. Not even a trip to the emergency room one night when I was - ahem - evacuating my guts out, brought me to the attention of any of those doctors. My primary physician, when informed of my ER visit, told me to go home and eat something. Anything. I did. Afterward, I spent the day in agony. Wave after wave of nausea and crippling abdominal pain paralyzed me. Somehow my body recovered enough to allow me to resume a wary sort of existence. Never sure whether I should venture out past my own bathroom, I would make quick visits to the grocery store or to see friends, ever mindful of the butterfly-like trembles in my gut that would signal an impending explosion. Fast-forward back to Dr. Niesen's office. I filled out all the necessary papers. I waited for my name to be called. I shook Dr. Niesen's hand. I liked her on first sight. She looked - interested. As if I were a puzzle for her to solve. She asked me lots of questions, and after answering them, she asked me another. Have you ever heard of celiac sprue? No, I answered. Dr. Niesen explained what it was. She said it was an auto-immune condition wherein people who suffered from it had a reaction to eating bread and other gluten-containing substances. I told her Well, I eat bread all the time . . . And I stopped short at my own words. I eat bread all the time. I was going to add But I've never had a problem. But clearly I did. Dr. Niesen ordered the necessary invasive tests. First I had a flex-sig. Nothing. Then a barium swallow. Nothing. Then the results of the blood tests came back. Dr. Niesen called me personally - at night. The tone of her voice carried excitement, and something else. Victory! She had found something! Well, sure enough, you DO have something wrong with you. It's not all in your head. Your eocinophil count is through the roof! What does that mean? I asked. It means, explained Dr. Niesen, that your body is fighting something. I want you to come in for an endoscopy. Through my tears, I mumbled Thank you! A couple of days later, I had the endoscopy. We got the results a few days after that. Sure enough, the villi in my small intestine had flattened to the point where Dr. Niesen said the folks at the lab had asked her whether she had gone all the way into my large intestine! She had assured them that she had not, of course. Prior to seeing the dietician whom Dr. Niesen recommended, I ate my last gluten-FULL meal. Pepperidge Farm Goldfish crackers. I said goodbye to the old me. I sent a silent thank you to Dr. Niesen with my last bite. For years afterward I sent Dr. Niesen a Christmas card, and thanked her for saving my life. Because that's what she did. I lost touch after a while, but whenever anyone asked me when and how I got diagnosed, I gave them her name. We moved away from St. Louis in 1991, but we returned last April (how's that for a coincidence?) 2013. I immediately sought out Dr. Niesen. I was thrilled to learn that she was an MDVIP doctor, and happily paid the fee to become a member of her practice. She's worth every penny, and more. I trust her with my life. On Tuesday, March 4 she is going to see my older son, who feels he may also have celiac disease. The probability is high, since he is a first-degree relative. I know Dr. Niesen will discover the cause of his GI distress, regardless of whether it is CD or not. I trust her with his life, too.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Wayne, MO Feb 20, 2014

I've been going to Dr. Anna Niesen since 1983. She has always been an excellent doctor who really cares about her patients. Anytime I have had a health issue or concern she has been there for me. And she has been very good about emphasizing the importance of preventative care and regular health screenings.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Marc, MO Feb 17, 2014

Finally a return to individual attention and an intimate doctor - patient relationship. This level of attention has been missing in my healthcare for almost 7 years and it has been a pleasure to recapture it with MD VIP and Dr. Nielsen. I could not be more pleased and satisfied with Dr Niessen's personal attention and follow up on every aspect of care for both my wife and myself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Janice, IL Feb 10, 2014

Dr. Anna Niesen and her staff are a real blessing to my husband and I as our primary physician medical care provider. In addition to being extremely thorough and focused in her diagnosis and treatment approach, Dr. Anna Niesen is also a kind and personable individual. This makes doctor visits with her a pleasant experience. Her staff is also extremely competent, efficient, and personable.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Sister Janet, MO Feb 9, 2014

My blood condition makes my care somewhat complicated. Dr. Niesen considers me a partner in my care. This is worth more than gold to me. If I ever need advice between appointments, she never expresses being bothered--and that goes for her nurses, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Bonnie, MO Feb 9, 2014

Dr. Niesen has been taking care of me for more than 30 years. She has made a difference in my life by giving me the security that my health issues will addressed in the most competent, caring and understanding manner possible. This is no small blessing. She was a VIP in my life long before MDVIP.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Mitch, MO Feb 5, 2014

Dr. Niesen is very patience with ma, she answers all my questions, she have been my Doctor since 1983 or 1984. She is the best.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Anna R. Niesen, MD

Wayne Sep 30, 2012

I've been going to Dr. Niesen since 1983. She is an excellent doctor who really cares about her patients. At physical exams we don't just talk about what problems I've had during the year. We also talk about what steps should be taken to improve my overall health and fitness. This guidance has kept me active and allowed me to continue to participate in bowling, jogging, dancing, and other recreational activities.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
No results found.