Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Philip, NY Feb 7, 2015

Two years ago I nearly died after another doctor botched a colonoscopy. I ended up spending four months in hospital fighting for my life. If it hadn't been for Dr Handelsman I wouldn't be alive. He counseled me and my wife every step of the way. He found the right hospital and the right surgeon for life saving surgery he was available 24 hours a day. My wife often called him in the middle of the night when something went wrong and he would patiently answer all her questions. He frequently traveled 60 miles round trip to see me in the hospital. God bless Dr Handelsman

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Sam, NY Feb 26, 2014

I was a manager with a Fortune 20 company and have been privileged to be a patient of Dr. Handelsman since 2006, when I retired. Before I retired I had access to the company's executive medical department, where the doctor was familiar with my detailed medical history, took a proactive part in my medical care and treated me like a king! When I retired, my wife said that my biggest problem would be with the medical establishment - treated like a number, no one familiar with your medical history, no one cares, long wait times, etc., etc. I joined Dr. Handelsman and got the executive, caring, respectful, knowledgeable care to which I had become accustomed. Dr. Handelsman has gone out of his way not only to provide me with outstanding and prompt service, but to be sensitive to my individual needs and concerns - even intervening to rapidly get me test concerns on one occasion when I was especially worried. He has become a critical part of my life, and I am grateful to him and to MDVIP. It's a bargain!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Sheryl, NY Feb 23, 2014

Dr. Handelsman has always been there for me. During the 15 years that my husband was sick he was always there, day or night when we needed him, even at 3:00 am when my husband had a heart attstion he was just a phone call away and when my hack. He was there all the time when my husband had a stroke and he was in the hospital in another county. Whenever I had a question he was just a phone call away. Since my husband died, he has been there for me. I will forever be grateful and thankful for Dr. Handelsman.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Robert, NY Feb 22, 2014

Being a retired person frustrated with: less than competent medical care; rude office personnel; impossible to have a phone conversation with your doctor; long waiting room times; dealing with medical Ins. Co.; finding good specialists and hospitals. Recognized as one the best primary care doctors in our area, when Dr. Handelsman converted his practice to MDVIP I joined it, and this was the best decision I could have made. He is always available 24/7, and his office staff is second to none. Appointments can be gotten immediately, and no waiting in the office! When I was suddenly stricken with a major chronic illness, he recommended the best specialist and hospitals, and personally coordinated my medical care with all of them. Dr. Handelsman takes excellent care of every aspect of my wife and my medical needs. Medical care from a PCP cant get any better than this!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Allan, NY Feb 15, 2014

Dr.Handelsman has been my doctor for 30+ years as well as for my wife. When my suffered a stroke in 2011 he arrived at the Hospital within an hour. She made a full recovery & due to the fine network of care he provided she was diagnosed quickly & could not be more grateful. He is our Doctor & friend + his staff is also top notch. My wife pays regular visits to his office for blood work and with our MDVIP plan over the past 7-8 years we get regular checkups with no waiting ever!! We also have referred him several of our friends & relatives, attended several of his special awareness classes & cannot say enough good things about this tremendous person!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

barbara, NY Feb 10, 2014

After being told by my previous doctor that he was too busy to deal with a medication reaction I was experiencing I left the office and called Dr. Handelsman. He saw me immediately and I joined his practice. It is so reassuring to know that there is somewhere there for me at all times with a genuine interest and dedication to keep me well. Dr. Handelsman coordinates all the specialists to which he refers me when necessary. He is available for me by phone whenever I have questions or issues. My life is so much more relaxed and allows me to indulge in my many hobbies and interests. I am an avid quilter and Dr. Handelsman has enabled me to pursue this activity with comfort and energy. I am so grateful to MDVIP making Dr. Handelslman available to me and my husband.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Dale & Jerrold, NY Feb 9, 2014

Dr. Handlesman You are the best Doctor we have ever had. You make everything easy and uncomplicated. You have changed our lives with positive reinforcement. Thank you Dr. Handlesman.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

george, NY Feb 9, 2014

Dr. Handelsman saved my life. I was not yet a patient of the doctor (my wife was) when he took immediate care of me and when it was quickly necessary got me to a hospital and made the necessary arrangements for transfer to Columbia for immediate quadruple bypass surgery. He made daily followup calls and was totally supportive of me, my wife and all the family. Since then he has been in charge of my care and allowed us all to depend on him and relax and enjoy this new lease on life. Life is wonderful for us all having such a supportive, caring person who is always available.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Allen, NY Feb 7, 2014

Dr. Handelsman has been my primary care physician for about 30 years. I consider him one of the most important people in my life. Being the same age, he knows exactly what I am going through, how to put me at ease (very important as I've become a bit high-strung in my advancing age!), and always refers me to other excellent doctors for any specialized care I may need. And I consider him a friend who is always there for me. I realize this is not a prerequisite, but I appreciate that relationship so very much.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Stan, NY Feb 7, 2014

I am one of Dr. Handelsman's original patients goiing back over 35 yrs. When he joined MDVIP I decided to stay with him as I felt my health was certainly worth investing in. Because of various maladies I felt that the doc had always tried to advise me in the right course of action and when my wife also became a diabetic, he treated both of us and gave us the counseling and care necessary to lead productive lives. Now that we are retired and spend part of the year as snowbirds, we are able to reach out to him and the MDVIP network in Florida if we have a problem. Doc is a caring and kind man who has seen us through various crises both medical and personal in nature. I believe that my lowering the number of patients in his practice he has been able to practice medicine the way it should be practiced. I look forward to many more years in his care and wsh him only the best. On this occasion I can only say, thanks doc for yor understanding and compassion.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Pamela Mar 4, 2012

Hi There, I am a patient of Dr.Richard Handelsman DO in Pomona NY.I cannot stress enough to everyone how very important the extra cost of an MDVIP Dr. means to your life.Especially if you have some one as fantastic,patient and knowlegable as Dr.Handelsman .He has literally saved my life with his knowlege of so many different medical issues.He always understands and helps me with my lifestyle issues. Both,mind,body and soul.He was truly instrumental in my shedding 40 lbs through changing food,stress and basically everything in my life. A good Dr. should be a teammate in your daily goals to wellness.I am so gratefull to Dr. Handelsman and especially his staff,for thier patience,care,and total body awareness to helping thier patients feel understood, and so helpfull to make my very hectic life less stressfull.I feel very blessed and very lucky.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Richard Handelsman, DO, FACP

Jay Aug 5, 2011

When I needed my MDVIP doctor, he justified my membership in his practice. He just might have saved my life and I want you to know how grateful I am for being associated with MDVIP and for his services. I am a member of Dr. Richard Handelsman's MDVIP-affiliated practice in Pomona, NY. After enduring chronic respiratory problems, I underwent double lung transplant surgery. Two days after being discharged from the hospital, I experienced arrhythmia (irregular heartbeat). I called 911, but because I live an hour away from the hospital where my transplant was performed, the ambulance took me to the closest local hospital. Immediately after calling 911, I contacted Dr. Handelsman who assured me that he would be waiting for me at the emergency room. This was the Memorial Day holiday weekend, and Dr. Handelsman arrived on the scene like a fire chief facing a house on fire. He took control, got me an excellent cardiologist, called my transplant team, and arranged for me to be in isolation as I was on immunosuppressant medications. He ran the show, which is exactly what I needed. I had been at the same hospital in the past before joining Dr. Handelsman's MDVIP practice and had no one advocating for me like he did that weekend. He followed up with all the specialists treating me and continued to communicate with my transplant team. I firmly believe that without Dr. Handelsman directing my emergency care, I could have been in a very dangerous situation with a very different outcome.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
No results found.