Explore MDVIP Member Reviews

C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Lois, AL Oct 12, 2014

Cal is caring, thorough and forthright with your condition. An amazing Healthcare provider.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Doris, AL Oct 8, 2014

He's caring, attentive and always gives personal attention. I didn't a survey to know that he's the best! I knew this all along!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Sarah Jane, AL Feb 24, 2014

My husband is a Surgeon and I am aware of what makes a devoted Doctor. Dr. Dodson is just that. His professionalism shines through as well as his devotion to making sure our lives are healthy. We feel so fortunate that he is on our side. He is so personal and caring. We feel truly blessed that he decided to go into this type of practice. We feel that he is available if we ever need him....he is just a phone call away. The office staff he has chosen is excellent--rounding out this excellent practice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Bennie, AL Feb 9, 2014

I am 78 years of age and have Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis, a terminal lung disease with no real treatment except high-flow oxygen 24/7. When I went for a prospective new-patient interview, Dr. Cal Dodson didnt bat an eyehe said, Welcome to our practice. Lets get you scheduled for an appointment and see what we can do to help you. A week before that 1st MDVIP office visit, my heartbeat suddenly became very weak and irregular and was accompanied by angina pain. Although he had not yet seen me as a patient, Dr. Dodson and his wonderful staff didnt miss a beat. The same afternoon, they scheduled me to see an excellent cardiologist who scheduled a catheterization the next morning. Dr. Dodson sat with my wife throughout the procedure and was the first face I saw while still in the recovery room. He visited again in the evening and the first thing the next morning. The catheterization revealed 3 major blocked arteries, but the team of specialists Dr. Dodson brought in determined that the condition of my lungs could not withstand the needed bypass surgery. Dr. Dodson was with us throughout and after the entire discussion. Thus, before he ever officially saw me as a patient, he watched me change from a patient with a difficult pre-existing diagnosis into a ticking time-bomb. In addition, I was badly overweight and required medications for hypertension and hypercholesterolemia. I would not have been at all surprised if he had deferred to accept me as a patient and referred me to a group of specialistsbut he didnt and that has made all the difference. Dr. Dodson asked, Have you read The China Study by Dr. Colin Campbell? I had not, but within days, my wife and I completed the book and decided that Dr. Dodsons suggestion of a nutrition-based approach was our only option to try to reverse some of the damage to my arteries. Less than a week after the catheterization (June, 2013), we adopted a no-fat/no-meat or seafood/no-oil/no egg yolk diet and we have not strayed from it since. Also at Dr. Dodsons direction, I began to slowly increase the aerobic portion of my exercise program. I was astounded to find that before the first month had passed, my heartbeat had become strong and regular and I was no longer experiencing angina pain. Every week I added a little time and difficulty to my treadmill and stationary bike time and added seated yoga and seated weight-lifting exercise segments. For the first time since completing pulmonary rehab in 2012, I started to notice that my oxygen saturation was improving and my oxygen requirements were reducing a bit. At the end of three months, Dr. Dodson did a complete blood panel and we were all shocked. I had lost 30-pounds and my lipid profile looked like it surely belonged to a younger, healthier man. My total cholesterol = 97 mg/dL; LDLs = 43 mg/dL; and triglycerides = 57 mg/dLand the only change was dietary. There are not enough words to adequately express the gratitude my wife and I feel for Dr. Dodson. Not many people diagnosed with IPF (via lung biopsy) 6+ years ago, who also have blocked arteries, an irregular heartbeat and angina can say, I know I am in better health and I feel better today than I have felt in the past 10 years.and without Dr. Dodsons willingness to direct a complicated process, I couldnt say it either.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Jane Marie, AL Feb 7, 2014

Dr. Dodson has rescued my life from plodding into old age to one of becoming fit and excited about the future. He has worked with my medical issues until they are well controlled and has brought me into an increasingly healthy lifestyle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Charles, AL Feb 7, 2014

Dr. Dodson has been our family doctor for approximately ten(10) years. He has done an excellent job of promoting and an individually focused Wellness Program(even before he became associated with MDVIP) and also detecting and addressing potential and actual health problems. During this period of time he has made excellent recommendations for doctors in specialized fields when they were needed(Urology, Gastroenterology, Surgeons, Dermatology, Orthopedic, Ophthalmology and Gynecology) and follow up when the services were used. In 2010 I had a stool sample that tested positive for blood. Based on this test he recommended that I get a colonoscopy(I had one several years before and not indication of problem at that time). They determined that the blood in the stool sample came from irritation in my esophagus that was caused by reflux but they also found some polyps in my colon with cancer cells. The doctor that performed the colonoscopy felt confident that the cancer had not spread beyond the polyps therefore did not see a need for surgery. Dr. Dodson devoted a lot of time getting other opinions on the pathology report. Based on this and discussing the situation with a surgeon, he recommended that I have surgery to remove a section of the colon where the cancerous polyps were located. I believe that I would have had serious problems or may not be alive today if it had not been for Dr. Dodson's persistence and guidance in addressing this situation in a timely manner. A follow up colonoscopy since the surgery looked fine-no problems. In summary I think Dr. Dodson is an excellent doctor and is truly focused on doing things to help prevent health problems and dealing with health issues when they occur. He does an excellent job on my annual physicals-reviewing the lab results and making recommendations in areas that are not within the normal range. We have always been able to get appointments on short notice when needed, wait time at the office is minimum and he does not seem to be in a rush during my visit. He has an excellent staff that is always very helpful. My wife and I are so pleased that he is our doctor and we are enjoying very good health concerning our ages. Attached is a picture of me and my grandson enjoying a visit at the Zoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Clark, AL Feb 7, 2014

I am so thankful for Dr. Dodson and MDVIP. Due to their comprehensive tests, they were able to uncover a previously undetected blood disease that would have been overlooked in a traditional setting.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Paul, AL Feb 7, 2014

Dr. Dodson is always there for me. He listens carefully and coaches me with kindness and understanding. I know that I can be a difficult patient so I am sure that I try his patience every now and then. Yet he is always kind and respectful and knows just what to say to handle a difficult situation. He has really made a difference in my overall health.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Patsy, AL Feb 6, 2014

Dr. Dodson is more than my physician, he is also my friend. He always has time for me and really listens. And like a true friend, he pushes me to be the best I can be physically.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

Charles, AL Feb 6, 2014

Dr. Dodson tells the truth, keeps his promises and treats me like like I think he would want to be treated.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

George, AL Feb 6, 2014

Dr. Dodson has changed my life for ever. I have stopped smoking for one year come March 18th. I have lost 39 lbs. following his recommendations. I'm in the best shape I have been in 20 years. I went from the worst patient (eating habits) to the model patient thanks to Dr. Dodson. Thanks to his persistence I was able to stop smoking. Not only is he a great doctor, he is also a good friend. Having a doctor you can trust really puts me in a comfort zone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
C. Calvert Dodson III, MD, FACP

George Feb 2, 2013

I have just started the program with Dr. Dodson and am very satisfied.

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
No results found.