J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP

Internal Medicine
2841 DeBarr Road Building A, Suite 43
Anchorage, AK 99508 Get Directions
J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP
More information available

Annual Membership Fee

500.00 every 3 months
1,000.00 every 6 months
2,000.00 each year

My Philosophy and Approach to Wellness...

My mission as your private doctor is to ensure that you receive transformative personalized healthcare based on the highest level of scientific application and clinical acuity, delivered with a spirit of positivity, support and service.  
My primary care practice was originally built on the premise of disease prevention through channels of analysis that are unique to my expertise, including a background in the field of endocrinology focusing on complex diabetes and cholesterol issues. Over time, my clinical philosophy has evolved in response to the current state of healthcare delivery, reimbursement and patient care. In breaking away from system-based delivery, I focus on treating each patient individually with a plan rooted in thought, time and interaction.  
In spite of recent increased interest in holistic approaches to patient care, there is still a common tendency among physicians to isolate illness to a certain organ or system in the body. After over 20 years as an osteopathic internal medicine physician, I still believe the human body is a unit, an integrated organism in which no part functions independently. As such, my treatment goals are to seek out and address the root cause of disease using available evidence-based approaches, to optimize the patient's self-regulating and self-healing capacities and to provide individualized patient management with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention.

Dr. Tanner's Credentials

Expand All
Collapse All
Texas A&M University College of Medicine, Scott & White Memorial Hospital
Temple, TX
Internal Medicine 1992-1994
Chief Resident 1993-1994

Texas A&M University College of Medicine, Scott & White Memorial Hospital
Temple, TX

Medical School:
University of North Texas Health Science Center, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Fort Worth, TX
Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine 1991
Graduated with Honors

Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management, Physicians Foundation Leadership Academy
Chicago, IL
Lipidology 2012

Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
Bachelor of Science, Biomedical Science 1986
Cum Laude

National Board of Physicians and Surgeons 
American Board of Clinical Lipidology 
South Peninsula Hospital, Homer, Alaska
Providence Hospital, Anchorage, Alaska
Alaska Regional Hospital, Anchorage, Alaska
Elected Board of Governors, Medical Insurance Exchange of California 2017
Preceptor of the Year Award 2013
Alaska State Medical Association
 - President 2007, 2012
 - Chairman of the Board of Trustees 2008
American Heart Association Heart Saver Award 2011
Rising Star Award, Northwest Osteopathic Medical Foundation 2004
Best Teacher, University of Washington, St. Peters Hospital, Family Medicine Residency 2001
First Lipidologist awarded Fellowship status in Alaska
First Board certified Lipidiologist in Alaska
Texas A&M University, College of Medicine
 - Resident Physician of the Year 1994
 - Upjohn Resident's Best Presentation Award 1994
 - Resident Teacher of the Year 1991, 1992
Outstanding Student Award in Internal Medicine, University of North Texas Health Science Center 1992
Fort Worth Community Service Award, Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce 1989
Medical Missionary, Samaritains Purse 2016-present
Pacific Northwest University Health Sciences University, Department of Internal Medicine 2010-present
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Touro University School of Osteopathic Medicine 2008-2010
Chief of Medicine, St. Peter Hospital 2002-2004
Governor appointed, Washington State Board of Medical Examiners 2004-2007
Clinical Associate Professor, University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston 1996-1999
Fellow, American College of Physicians
Fellow, American College of Clinical Lipidology
American Diabetes Association
American Heart Association
National Lipid Association
Alaska State Medical Association
Anchorage Medical Society

Testimonials from patients of Dr. Tanner

from Warren in AK March 11, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP
Image provided by: Warren

Sharing this to MDVIP is like preaching to the choir, but any way I can sing this doctor’s praises I will do. Truly, I am alive and as healthy as I am due to Dr Tanner’s guidance and enthusiasm for a healthy lifestyle!
He not only teaches it, he lives it.
I was fortunate enough to start seeing him while I was making major lifestyle changes and have followed him as he made the… See more

from Ross in AK March 11, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP

Just a short note to let you know how much you have positively impacted my health. You and your staff are are very passionate, caring, non judgmental which is appreciated. Hope you have another great year. 

from Sheila in AK March 10, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP

I’ve lost track of how many years I’ve been seeing Dr. Tanner. I began seeing him many years ago at the suggestion of a good friend of mine who was being treated for diabetes. She knew my family history of heart disease and she believed that I might be diabetic. Fortunately, I was, and still am, "only" pre-diabetic. But I immediately found in Dr. Tanner a serious and enthusiastic… See more

from Paulette February 18, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP

Not enough words to describe gratitude for having Dr Ross Tanner in my life. He is the smartest and most caring Dr I have ever had. He treats me like I am his only patient and Im sure he does that for each and every one. His medical education is beyond belief and I trust him with my life. I have been his patient for many many years and will remain as so. Thank you

from Kevin February 12, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP
User submitted photo

Working with Dr Tanner and the MDVIP. I have really enjoyed being able to login and look at the doctors notes and my test results. Dr Tanner has always been there for me and my family and has always taken time to listen to our concerns and helps us live a healthy life style. He was also able to help me loose weight and gain control so that I could loose over 100lbs!!

from Thom February 12, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP

I have been a patient in Dr. Tanners practice for over 10 years. His staff is always pleasant and professional. I see a new face once in a great while which tells me hes not only a great physician (from my personal experience) but also a great boss in that he has very little turnover of his staff. When I have my annual he takes the time to go over details of my health so I am fully aware of… See more

from Viola February 12, 2020 for J. Ross Tanner, DO, FACP

I went to a clinic to get a check up and they stated that I had diabetes. I called Dr Tanner and he was able to get me in. He tested my A1C and it came back extremely high along with my cholesterol. With Dr Tanners knowledge of medicine he was able to get my A1C and my cholesterol down. I have been to many doctors over the years as I have a family history of high cholesterol. Thanks to him it… See more